BookBrowse Reviews The Terror by Dan Simmons

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Terror

A Novel

by Dan Simmons

The Terror
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jan 2007, 784 pages
    Paperback:
    Dec 2007, 672 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

A gripping and atmospheric horror story/novel based on a real Arctic expedition which disappeared in 1845

The Terror is based on a real expedition (see sidebar) which set out from England in 1845, never to return. This powerful historical backdrop - two well-equipped ships, crewed with seasoned Arctic explorers and led by a renowned explorer and popular hero - provides an excellent foundation point for Simmons's talents. From the opening paragraphs, it becomes clear that he has done his research; period information is vivid and crisp, and immediately draws you in, effectively setting up the story's main themes early on: Survival in the Arctic with risks of cold, starvation and scurvy; and the supernatural "thing" that preys on the explorers and appears invulnerable to their weapons.

There is no single narrator, rather the story is told through the eyes of various crew-members including Sir John Franklin and ...

Did you know?

The Franklin expedition consisted of two ships: H.M.S. Erebus and H.M.S Terror. In the Greek pantheon, Erebus was the son of Chaos. Charon, the ferry-man, who takes the dead across the River Styx, is said to be the son of Erebus and Nyx (Night). Mount Erebus (part of the Pacific Ring of Fire that includes over 160 active volcanoes) is the world's southernmost active volcano. It is located on Ross Island in Antarctica, which is also home to three inactive volcanoes, one of which is Mount Terror.

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.