BookBrowse Reviews Heart-Shaped Box by Joe Hill

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Heart-Shaped Box

A Novel.

by Joe Hill

Heart-Shaped Box by Joe Hill X
Heart-Shaped Box by Joe Hill
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Feb 2007, 384 pages

    Paperback:
    Apr 2008, 320 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A first novel, horror of course, from the son of Stephen King

Joe Hill's first novel is a horrific little tale centered on Jude, a 54-year-old aging heavy-metal star living comfortably on the royalties of his albums. Jude buys a haunted suit on the internet believing it will be a suitable addition to his ghoulish collection, but he gets more than he expected when the suit turns out to be genuinely haunted by a ghost who has no intention of being part of a collection, especially when he has a personal vendetta to fulfill.

The irony is that Jude has spent his life exploiting the macabre with his stage persona, but now he is the target, and his fantasy seems to have taken a very realistic turn. It transpires that the ghostly bag of bones is a Vietnam vet turned mesmerist (a form of hypnotism) who also happens to be the deeply evil stepfather of one of Jude's old girlfriends who committed suicide after they split up.

Jude and his current girlfriend take to the road to escape the ghost, who follows in a cinematic, ghostly old Chevy pickup, releasing the full gamut of supernatural offerings on his intended victims as he chases them across the country.

Heart-Shaped Box has garnered high praise from many. Kirkus Reviews describes it as "hair-raising fun" and Publishers Weekly concludes that Hill's "subtle and skillful treatment of horrors that could easily have exploded over the top and out of control helps make this a truly memorable debut."

In short, Hill knows his audience. If horror is your genre you're likely to find yourself satisfied with his first novel, and with book rights already sold in at least 17 countries and a movie already being planned, it's likely we'll be hearing more from him before too long.

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in February 2007, and has been updated for the May 2008 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for 12 months or $12 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

and discover exceptional books
for just $3.25 per month.

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: River of the Gods
    River of the Gods
    by Candice Millard
    The Nile River has provided vital resources for millennia, serving as a source of water, food and ...
  • Book Jacket: Horse
    Horse
    by Geraldine Brooks
    Geraldine Brooks creates a powerful backstory for 19th-century thoroughbred racehorse Lexington, ...
  • Book Jacket: Notes on Your Sudden Disappearance
    Notes on Your Sudden Disappearance
    by Alison Espach
    Notes on Your Sudden Disappearance will make you ache for a loss you didn't experience as you relate...
  • Book Jacket: Mercy Street
    Mercy Street
    by Jennifer Haigh
    Jennifer Haigh's Mercy Street centers around a Boston clinic that provides abortion services. The ...

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
Carolina Moonset
by Matt Goldman
An engrossing novel about family, memories and secrets too dangerous to stay hidden.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    One's Company
    by Ashley Hutson

    For readers of Ottessa Moshfegh this fearless debut chronicles one woman's escape into a world of obsessive imagination.

  • Book Jacket

    Good Husbands
    by Cate Ray

    Three wives, one letter, and an explosive secret that will change everything.
    He said, she said. Who do you believe?

Win This Book!
Win Where the Crawdads Sing

Win a signed copy of Where the Crawdads Sing

In celebration of the movie release on July 15, we have three signed copies to give away.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

T O Thing W H T F I F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.