BookBrowse Reviews The Innocent Man by John Grisham

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Innocent Man

Murder and Injustice in a Small Town

by John Grisham

The Innocent Man
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Oct 2006, 368 pages
    Paperback:
    Nov 2007, 448 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


If you believe that in America you are innocent until proven guilty, this book will shock you. If you believe in the death penalty, this book will disturb you. If you believe the criminal justice system is fair, this book will infuriate you

Since A Time to Kill published in 1989 John Grisham has become virtually synonymous with the term "legal thriller", a genre that he's already broken out of a few times, such as his two 2001 novels, A Painted House and Skipping Christmas, but with The Innocent Man he's crossed the line not just from one fiction genre to another but from fiction into nonfiction.  Stylistically, it's often difficult to tell the difference between his first nonfiction work and his novels, which is both the strength and weakness of The Innocent Man.

Judged against Grisham's fictional works, The Innocent Man compares well, his prose style is tight and fast-paced, the extremely large cast of characters are sketched succinctly and courtroom legalities are explained in a style simple enough for the layman to follow, and we're left in little doubt about who are the good guys and who ...

Did you know?

According to the World Prison Population List (sixth edition, 2005), formerly produced by the UK Home Office, and now by Kings College London:

  • Over 9 million people are held in penal institutions throughout the world.  Almost a quarter of these are in the USA (2.09 million).  By comparison, China has just 1.55 million in prison and Russia 0.76 million. 
  • The United States has the highest prison population rate in the world, 714 per 100,000 of the national population; followed by Belarus, Bermuda and Russia (all 532/100,000).
  • Almost 3 out of every 5 countries (58%) have incarceration rates below 150 per 100,000.


Interesting Links

  • The Innocence Project 200 website (undated), with profiles of the first 200 innocent men and women to be released from USA prisons on the basis of DNA evidence.
  • An April 2006 BBC ...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...
  • Book Jacket: Night of the Animals
    Night of the Animals
    by Bill Broun
    Debut novelist Bill Broun is a gentle, exquisite literary surgeon. His protagonist, 90-year-old ...
  • Book Jacket: My Name Is Leon
    My Name Is Leon
    by Kit De Waal
    Kit de Waal's striking debut, My Name is Leon, has inspired this big, long, complicated question: ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.