BookBrowse Reviews Unconfessed by Yvette Christiansë

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Unconfessed

by Yvette Christiansë

Unconfessed
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Nov 2006, 360 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2007, 360 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

An epic novel that connects the reader to the unimaginable through the force of poetry and a far-reaching imagination

Imprisoned for life in the Robben Island prison colony, Sila talks in her mind with her dead son, Baro, and later with a whole host of spirits from her past. She remembers her love and desperate grief for Baro, and for her other children mostly lost to her: Carolina, Camies, Pieter, another boy "who came and went too quietly for a name", Meisie, Catherina and Debora - all the result of rape either by her former owner or by prison guards, but intensely loved nonetheless.

Through her lyrical, rambling voice that reveals her mental state to be closer to madness than sanity we slowly learn of her life, from when she was stolen as a small child by slavers in Mozambique, through her ownership by a variety of masters, to the ultimate irony of her present life as a freed slave (slavery having been abolished) condemned to life imprisonment.

As she breaks stones in ...


A Short History of South Africa (map)

The Dutch-East India Trading company, led by Jan van Riebeeck accompanied by 82 men and 8 women, were the first to colonize the Cape of Good Hope in 1652. Cape Town was a useful supply point for the company's ships on their journeys from Europe to Asia.

Rapid development required a dramatic increase in the labor force, especially when Dutch settlers started to arrive together with other Europeans, including a large group of French Huguenots (French Calvinists). Originally slaves came mainly from West Africa, particularly from Guinea and Angola. Later, they were brought from Mozambique and Madagascar. Slaves were also brought from Indonesia, Malaya, China and India.

Soon the settlement started to spread inland on to land formerly occupied by the Khoikhoi. By the early 19th century, the Boers (Dutch colonists) had ...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.