BookBrowse Reviews Armageddon's Children by Terry Brooks

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Armageddon's Children

The Genesis of Shannara, Book 1

by Terry Brooks

Armageddon's Children by Terry Brooks X
Armageddon's Children by Terry Brooks
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Aug 2006, 384 pages
    Paperback:
    Jul 2007, 416 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


The first in Terry Brooks Genesis of Shannara series

We don't tend to recommend much sci-fi/fantasy at BookBrowse. Partially because the sci-fi/fantasy genre covers such a wide variety of writing that BookBrowse simply can't do it justice, partly because relatively few BookBrowse visitors say that they read sci-fi, and partly because there's relatively little sci-fi/fantasy that seems good enough to warrant inclusion. Terry Brooks is one writer who continuously delivers the goods - with at least 24 novels to his name (see full bibliography at fantasticfiction), most, if not all, of which have been bestsellers, he continues to find new directions and new worlds in which to express his talents.

Armageddon's Children
, the first in a new series (that picks up where his The Word and The Void trilogy ended, but can be read independently), is set in a near-future version of the USA, with a fair dollop of magic thrown in for good measure. It's about 80 years from now, and civilization has collapsed as a result of global ecological disasters, weapons of mass destruction and massive plagues; mutants roam freely and the few remaining survivors are walled up inside makeshift stockades that used to be stadiums.

As always, Brooks's fluid writing style makes even the most convoluted of plots intelligible as the large cast of characters, including demons, street gangs, mutants, elves and giant insects, battle it out.

The first part of this first in a new series offers a refreshing and challenging new look at a post-apocalyptic world, vividly realized and frighteningly plausible. However as the book moves into the second half Brooks's imagination seems to falter and the book teeters dangerously close to becoming formulaic. However, overall Armageddon's Children is an exciting read that few sci-fi aficionados will want to miss.

The real test will come as The Genesis of Shannara series develops (Brooks says there could be as many as 9 or 10 books in the arc) to see whether it has the legs to be an effective standalone series, or just a recasting of his previous books. The second in the opening trilogy, The Elves of Cintra will be published later this month.

This review was originally published in October 2006, and has been updated for the July 2007 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The World Doesn't Require You
    The World Doesn't Require You
    by Rion Amilcar Scott
    You can't move for young authors being marketed as "unique," "bold" and "visionary" these days. So ...
  • Book Jacket: The Long Call
    The Long Call
    by Ann Cleeves
    Penning a great murder mystery seems like it would be particularly challenging. The story often fits...
  • Book Jacket: The Liar
    The Liar
    by Ayelet Gundar-Goshen
    The Liar is a book that will make its readers uncomfortable by design; set in modern-day Israel, it ...
  • Book Jacket: The Dutch House
    The Dutch House
    by Ann Patchett

    There are a few times in life when you leap up and the past that you'd been standing on falls away ...


Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Motherhood So White
    by Nefertiti Austin

    A heartwarming memoir of motherhood and adoption told through an African American lens.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Shadow King
    by Maaza Mengiste

    "A brilliant novel, lyrically lifting history towards myth. It's also compulsively readable."
    —Salman Rushdie
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

An enchanting story for fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Elegance of the Hedgehog.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L, Damn L, A S

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.