Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

BookBrowse Reviews Armageddon's Children by Terry Brooks

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Armageddon's Children

The Genesis of Shannara, Book 1

by Terry Brooks

Armageddon's Children by Terry Brooks X
Armageddon's Children by Terry Brooks
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Aug 2006, 384 pages

    Paperback:
    Jul 2007, 416 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


The first in Terry Brooks Genesis of Shannara series

We don't tend to recommend much sci-fi/fantasy at BookBrowse. Partially because the sci-fi/fantasy genre covers such a wide variety of writing that BookBrowse simply can't do it justice, partly because relatively few BookBrowse visitors say that they read sci-fi, and partly because there's relatively little sci-fi/fantasy that seems good enough to warrant inclusion. Terry Brooks is one writer who continuously delivers the goods - with at least 24 novels to his name (see full bibliography at fantasticfiction), most, if not all, of which have been bestsellers, he continues to find new directions and new worlds in which to express his talents.

Armageddon's Children
, the first in a new series (that picks up where his The Word and The Void trilogy ended, but can be read independently), is set in a near-future version of the USA, with a fair dollop of magic thrown in for good measure. It's about 80 years from now, and civilization has collapsed as a result of global ecological disasters, weapons of mass destruction and massive plagues; mutants roam freely and the few remaining survivors are walled up inside makeshift stockades that used to be stadiums.

As always, Brooks's fluid writing style makes even the most convoluted of plots intelligible as the large cast of characters, including demons, street gangs, mutants, elves and giant insects, battle it out.

The first part of this first in a new series offers a refreshing and challenging new look at a post-apocalyptic world, vividly realized and frighteningly plausible. However as the book moves into the second half Brooks's imagination seems to falter and the book teeters dangerously close to becoming formulaic. However, overall Armageddon's Children is an exciting read that few sci-fi aficionados will want to miss.

The real test will come as The Genesis of Shannara series develops (Brooks says there could be as many as 9 or 10 books in the arc) to see whether it has the legs to be an effective standalone series, or just a recasting of his previous books. The second in the opening trilogy, The Elves of Cintra will be published later this month.

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in October 2006, and has been updated for the August 2007 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Armageddon's Children, try these:

  • Black Moon jacket

    Black Moon

    by Kenneth Calhoun

    Published 2015

    About this book

    For fans of The Age of Miracles and The Dog Stars, Black Moon is a hallucinatory and stunning debut that Charles Yu calls "Gripping and expertly constructed."

  • Zone One jacket

    Zone One

    by Colson Whitehead

    Published 2012

    About this book

    More by this author

    Both spine chilling and playfully cerebral, Zone One brilliantly subverts the genre's conventions and deconstructs the zombie myth for the twenty-first century.

We have 8 read-alikes for Armageddon's Children, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Terry Brooks
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Women and Children First
    Women and Children First
    by Alina Grabowski
    After Lucy Anderson falls to her death at a high school party, no one in Nashquitten, her gloomy, ...
  • Book Jacket: Henry Henry
    Henry Henry
    by Allen Bratton
    Allen Bratton's Henry Henry chronicles a year in the life of Hal Lancaster. Readers already ...
  • Book Jacket: The Last Murder at the End of the World
    The Last Murder at the End of the World
    by Stuart Turton
    The island is the only safe place left on Earth. Since a deadly fog overtook the planet, the ...
  • Book Jacket
    A Kind of Madness
    by Uche Okonkwo
    The word "madness," like many others that can be used to stigmatize mental illness — e.g., "...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Look on the Bright Side
by Kristan Higgins
From the author of Pack Up the Moon comes a funny, romantic, and moving novel about life's unexpected rewards.
Book Jacket
The Pecan Children
by Quinn Connor
Two sisters deeply tied to their small Southern town fight to break free of the darkness swallowing the land whole.
Win This Book
Win Bright and Tender Dark

Bright and Tender Dark by Joanna Pearson

A beautifully written, wire-taut debut novel about a murder on a college campus and its aftermath twenty years later.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A W in S C

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.