BookBrowse Reviews The Looking Glass Wars by Frank Beddor

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Looking Glass Wars

by Frank Beddor

The Looking Glass Wars by Frank Beddor X
The Looking Glass Wars by Frank Beddor
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 2006, 384 pages
    Paperback:
    Aug 2007, 400 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


An epic battle in the endless war for Imagination set in an alternative version of Lewis Carroll's Wonderland. Ages 12+

Put aside any thoughts of Alice skipping happily through Wonderland encountering charmingly benign characters, and instead meet Alyss and the heroic, passionate, monstrous, vengeful population of Wondernation as they battle each other with AD-52's and orb generators, navigate the Crystal Continuum, bet on jabberwock fights and travel across the Chessboard Desert.

Three lead characters drive the story. There is Alyss, the young princess of Wonderland, already renowned, for the power of her imagination (Wonderland being a place where to imagine is to make real), who falls through the Pool of Tears to escape her Aunt Redd when the latter's armies viciously attack the peaceful Queendom killing Alyss's parents. Alyss lands up in Victorian London where she briefly falls in with a band of street children before eventually being adopted by the Liddells.  Even though everyone laughs at her and her imaginative powers all but disappear she remembers who she is.

The second is the royal bodyguard, Hatter Madigan (aka the Mad Hatter), with a weapon enhanced line of headwear that makes Odd Job's steel-rimmed bowler hat look decidedly old school. Madigan follows Alyss through the Pool of Tears, but lands at a different location (his adventures while searching for Alyss have already been spun off in comic book format - see sidebar).

The third character is Dodge Anders, Alyss's long term love interest whose father is killed by The Cat (Redd's paid assassin, with the convenient advantage of 9-lives); Dodge leads a band of rebels in Wonderland who await the day when their rightful queen is returned to the throne.

Beddor gets top marks for creativity and plotline, but, from an adult point of view, falls down with some rather clunky writing, which tends to read like a concept for a computer game rather than a finished book. The story hurtles forward from scene to complex scene with Black Imagination pitted against White, but with relatively little character development. For this reason we feel it is likely to be of greatest appeal to boys in their early teens, on the basis that the majority in that age group value action above all else. 

At the end of the day, what matters is what the intended audience think of it; so let's hear from them....
Our 12-year-old male reviewer loved every bit of it - the humor, the action and the characters, whereas it had too much violence to appeal to our 11-year-old female reviewer.  We have received similarly mixed reports from other young teens.  One 13-year-old boy reports that friends of his, both girls and boys, enjoyed the story, but he felt that the ending was weak and that it was a little too "female".

As always, you can get a taste of the book by reading the excerpt at BookBrowse.

Seeing Redd, the second in the series, was published in August 2007.  Picking up where The Looking Glass Wars ends, it is described by reviewers as more graphically violent than the first.

This review was originally published in October 2006, and has been updated for the August 2007 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.