Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

BookBrowse Reviews Dairy Queen by Catherine Gilbert Murdock

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Dairy Queen

by Catherine Gilbert Murdock

Dairy Queen by Catherine Gilbert Murdock X
Dairy Queen by Catherine Gilbert Murdock
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    May 2006, 278 pages

    Paperback:
    Jun 2007, 278 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A painfully funny novel....a fresh teen voice, great football action and cows - this novel rocks.

From the book jacket: "When you don't talk, there’s a lot of stuff that ends up not getting said."  Harsh words indeed, from Brian Nelson of all people. But, D. J. can't help admitting, maybe he’s right.  Stuff like why her best friend, Amber, isn’t so friendly anymore. Or why her little brother, Curtis, never opens his mouth. Why her mom has two jobs and a big secret. Why her college-football-star brothers won't even call home. Why her dad would go ballistic if she tried out for the high school football team herself. And why Brian is so, so out of her league.  Welcome to the summer that fifteen-year-old D. J. Schwenk of Red Bend, Wisconsin, learns to talk, and ends up having an awful lot of stuff to say.

Comment: If we had a category for great books that almost got away, Dairy Queen would be on it.  Published in hardcover in May 2006, it sat on the shelf above my desk for a couple of months, bringing a smile to my face every time I looked at the cow on the cover (sadly, there is no quizzical cow on the paperback jacket, instead the publisher has chosen an image of two teens, which is likely to be of more appeal to the intended target audience, but not to their mothers!) Eventually, I started to read Dairy Queen to our two children at our "morning reading parties" (the magical half-hour we take out at the start of each school day when they climb into our bed to be read to).

We got a couple of chapters in before they decided that the storyline was a little too "teenage" for them (they were 11 and 13 at the time), so Dairy Queen got set aside again;  the only difference being that this time the cow was  staring at me in the morning when I woke! Finally, I found a couple of quiet hours to finish the story myself,  and what a delight it is.  D.J. is a heroine to root for - funny, intelligent, independent and self-deprecating.  I thoroughly recommend Dairy Queen (the first of a planned trilogy) to teenage girls - and if the occasional boy could bring himself to read it, he might not only enjoy it but would glean more about the female psyche than he'll learn from any number of locker room discussions!

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in October 2006, and has been updated for the June 2007 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Dairy Queen, try these:

We have 5 read-alikes for Dairy Queen, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Catherine Gilbert Murdock
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Sicilian Inheritance
    The Sicilian Inheritance
    by Jo Piazza
    Sara Marsala is going through a rough patch, to say the least. In the process of divorcing from her ...
  • Book Jacket: The Light Eaters
    The Light Eaters
    by Zoë Schlanger
    The human race is completely dependent on plants. Many people, however, give little thought to ...
  • Book Jacket: Joy Is the Justice We Give Ourselves
    Joy Is the Justice We Give Ourselves
    by J Drew Lanham
    As a recipient of the MacArthur "Genius" Grant, and a Professor of Wildlife Ecology and Master ...
  • Book Jacket: Glorious Exploits
    Glorious Exploits
    by Ferdia Lennon
    Lampo and Gelon are two unemployed potters in their thirties whose lives are spent between their ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Romantic Comedy
by Curtis Sittenfeld
A comedy writer's stance on love shifts when a pop star challenges her assumptions in this witty and touching novel.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Stolen Child
    by Ann Hood

    An unlikely duo ventures through France and Italy to solve the mystery of a child’s fate.

  • Book Jacket

    This Strange Eventful History
    by Claire Messud

    An immersive, masterful story of a family born on the wrong side of history.

Win This Book
Win Only the Brave

Only the Brave by Danielle Steel

A powerful, sweeping historical novel about a courageous woman in World War II Germany.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

F T a T

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.