BookBrowse Reviews St. Lucy's Home for Girls Raised by Wolves by Karen Russell

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

St. Lucy's Home for Girls Raised by Wolves

Stories

by Karen Russell

St. Lucy's Home for Girls Raised by Wolves by Karen Russell X
St. Lucy's Home for Girls Raised by Wolves by Karen Russell
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 2006, 256 pages
    Paperback:
    Aug 2007, 256 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A blazingly original debut collection of short stories

St Lucy's Home for Girls Raised by Wolves consists of ten short stories, unconnected except that they are all set in a surreal version of America and are all inhabited by precociously articulate children who (in Russell's words) are "coming alive to certain adult truths but lack the perspective to make sense of them". For example, in "Haunting Olivia" two boys search for their dead sister who floated out to sea on a giant crab shell; in the title story a pack of girls raised by their werewolf parents are educated into polite society; and in "Ava Wrestles the Alligator" Ava is left in charge of her family's theme park, Swamplandia, its seventy alligators and an older sister possessed nightly by a very randy demon (Russell is currently working on a full length novel about Ava and her family, see sidebar).

All in all, an extraordinary, eccentric, imaginative collection of short stories on the general theme of adolescents and the trials of growing up. As always, you don't have to take BookBrowse's word for it - instead, you can read part of a short story at BookBrowse or, if you'd prefer not to be left hanging in mid-story, you can read a complete short story at the New Yorker.

About the Author: 25-year-old Karen Russell is a native of Miami who now lives in New York City. She has been featured in both The New Yorker’s debut fiction issue and New York Magazine’s list of twenty-five people to watch under the age of twenty-five. She is a graduate of the Columbia MFA program and is the 2005 recipient of the Transatlantic Review/Henfield Foundation Award; her fiction has recently appeared in Conjunctions, Granta, Zoetrope, Oxford American, and The New Yorker.


Did you know? The collection's title story was originally going to be "Ava Wrestles the Alligator," but Karen's brother vetoed it on the basis that it sounded like a "Hooked on Phonics" story, so they decided to settle on what would become "St Lucy's Home for Girls Raise by Wolves" as the title story - but first Karen had to decide on a short saint's name (a short name that is, as opposed to a vertically challenged saint). She toyed with St Ulrich (the patron saint of wolves) and St Gertrude, but finally settled on St Lucy - the patron saint of blindness and authors.

This review was originally published in September 2006, and has been updated for the August 2007 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...
  • Book Jacket: Mothers of Sparta
    Mothers of Sparta
    by Dawn Davies
    What it's about:
    The tagline on the back cover of Mothers of Sparta says it all: "Some women...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.