BookBrowse Reviews Farthing by Jo Walton

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Farthing

by Jo Walton

Farthing by Jo Walton X
Farthing by Jo Walton
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Aug 2006, 320 pages
    Paperback:
    Aug 2007, 320 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Farthing is a compelling story of encroaching darkness and the people who ultimately decide to resist it

At first glance Farthing appears to be a typical country house mystery - the setting is the South of England, close to the market town of Winchester and everyone is well spoken and properly dressed; but don't be fooled - the storyline quickly blasts through the confines of a "cozy" mystery to explore many themes including politics, justice and class, but most importantly, through the vehicle of alternate history, the nature of history itself and how we must never be complacent about the future, because history can and does turn on a dime, or in this case a farthing*.

Within a few pages the reader becomes aware that all is not as it should be in England's green and pleasant land. It's 1949 and the war is over - but it's been over since 1941 because Britain made peace with Germany, leaving Hitler to rule Europe. Churchill has long been sidelined to the back benches, the worst aspects of the British class system are flourishing, and ultra-conservatives with aspirations of becoming full-blown fascists, like their admired neighbor across the Channel, are in control of the government. Meanwhile, on the other side of the Atlantic, Nazi-sympathizer Charles Lindbergh is President, leaving Canada as one of the few safe-havens for European Jews.

The story is told from two perspectives; firstly by Lucy, the apparently scatterbrained daughter of the house, married to Jewish David; Lucy constantly puts herself down in a way that is quintessentially English - a persona still to be found in many bright English women who have become habituated to hiding their intelligence (even from themselves) for fear of being thought too clever. The other viewpoint is that of Inspector Carmichael of Scotland Yard who is nobody's fool and has his own axe to grind. As the events unfold from the different perspectives of Carmichael and Lucy it is as if a movie camera is zooming out - first the focus is on the Farthing estate, but slowly the lens draws back to give us a wider view of events, and their sinister implications.

This is a fine, thought provoking book, easily on a par with Philip Roth's The Plot Against America.

*A farthing (meaning fourth part) was legal tender in Britain until 1960, and was worth one quarter of a penny. Up until 1971, when Britain's currency was decimalized, there were 12 pennies to a shilling, 20 shillings to the pound, and five shillings to the crown - thus 240 pennies in a pound.

This review was originally published in September 2006, and has been updated for the August 2007 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.