Summer Sale! Save 20% today and get access to all our member benefits.

BookBrowse Reviews Fiasco by Thomas E. Ricks

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Fiasco

The American Military Adventure in Iraq

by Thomas E. Ricks

Fiasco by Thomas E. Ricks X
Fiasco by Thomas E. Ricks
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jul 2006, 496 pages

    Paperback:
    Jul 2007, 512 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Perhaps the most complete, incisive analysis yet of the Iraq quagmire. Current Affairs

Apparently, T.E. Lawrence once compared putting down a guerrilla insurgency to attempting to eat soup with a knife - a slow and messy process. This view reflects the opinion of the majority of those interviewed for Fiasco - the Iraq War is not only a slow, messy process but one that could and should have been avoided. Ricks reports that many in the military now publicly acknowledge that the guerilla insurgency that exploded after Saddam's fall was not preordained, and, in fact was created by the war's architects - but those who tried to speak out against the miscalculations and shortsightedness at the time were generally crushed, their careers ended.

What makes Fiasco stand out from the crowd of recently published books about the current situation is the comprehensiveness and coherence of Ricks's reporting, and the dozens of military sources he cites (many going on the record for the first time) backed up by the thousands of pages of internal documents - Ricks says he read over 30,000 pages of documents, including diaries, unit logs, official briefings, email correspondence and US military documents.

Covering the events up until mid-2006 with a postscript that looks back on the year since the book's release - Ricks's once controversial account is increasingly becoming accepted as conventional wisdom.

The last section of the book discusses the possible, mostly grim, scenarios for the Middle East in the next decade. In a 2006 interview, Ricks suggests that, "The Bush Administration doesn't really like "stability" in the Middle East .... 'stability' has been the goal of previous administrations, but pursuing it led to 9/11..... [Stability] is not the goal, it is the target. So [the administration] are for rolling the dice, both in Iraq and in Lebanon." He goes on to say, "I think the big worry is those wars spilling over borders. Fasten your seat belts."

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in September 2006, and has been updated for the August 2007 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Fiasco, try these:

  • And West Is West jacket

    And West Is West

    by Ron Childress

    Published 2016

    About this book

    Winner of the prestigious PEN/Bellwether Prize for Socially Engaged Fiction, And West Is West is an inspired novel about two young people who learn, the hard way, about the devastating power of new technology to isolate us from the consequences of our actions.

  • We Are Called to Rise jacket

    We Are Called to Rise

    by Laura McBride

    Published 2015

    About this book

    Three lives are bound together by a split-second mistake, and a child's fate hangs in the balance.

    What happens next will test—and restore—your faith in humanity.

We have 12 read-alikes for Fiasco, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Thomas Ricks
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Night of Baba Yaga
    The Night of Baba Yaga
    by Akira Otani, Sam Bett
    When Yoriko Shindo gets into a brawl on a busy street in 1970s Tokyo, she has no idea what the ...
  • Book Jacket: The Anthropologists
    The Anthropologists
    by Aysegül Savas
    A documentary filmmaker, Asya is interested in the "unremarkable grace" of daily life, "the slow and...
  • Book Jacket: Mood Swings
    Mood Swings
    by Frankie Barnet
    This book begins with a bombastic premise. Seemingly fed up with the heating planet, the world's ...
  • Book Jacket: The Ballad of Jacquotte Delahaye
    The Ballad of Jacquotte Delahaye
    by Briony Cameron
    Our titular heroine's story begins in Yáquimo, Santo Domingo. Jacquotte Delahaye is a young ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
The 1619 Project
by Nikole Hannah-Jones
An impactful expansion of groundbreaking journalism, The 1619 Project offers a revealing vision of America's past and present.
Who Said...

Show me the books he loves and I shall know the man...

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

L T C O of the B

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.