BookBrowse Reviews Fiasco by Thomas E. Ricks

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Fiasco

The American Military Adventure in Iraq

by Thomas E. Ricks

Fiasco by Thomas E. Ricks X
Fiasco by Thomas E. Ricks
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jul 2006, 496 pages
    Paperback:
    Jul 2007, 512 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Perhaps the most complete, incisive analysis yet of the Iraq quagmire. Current Affairs

Apparently, T.E. Lawrence once compared putting down a guerrilla insurgency to attempting to eat soup with a knife - a slow and messy process. This view reflects the opinion of the majority of those interviewed for Fiasco - the Iraq War is not only a slow, messy process but one that could and should have been avoided. Ricks reports that many in the military now publicly acknowledge that the guerilla insurgency that exploded after Saddam's fall was not preordained, and, in fact was created by the war's architects - but those who tried to speak out against the miscalculations and shortsightedness at the time were generally crushed, their careers ended.

What makes Fiasco stand out from the crowd of recently published books about the current situation is the comprehensiveness and coherence of Ricks's reporting, and the dozens of military sources he cites (many going on the record for the first time) backed up by the thousands of pages of internal documents - Ricks says he read over 30,000 pages of documents, including diaries, unit logs, official briefings, email correspondence and US military documents.

Covering the events up until mid-2006 with a postscript that looks back on the year since the book's release - Ricks's once controversial account is increasingly becoming accepted as conventional wisdom.

The last section of the book discusses the possible, mostly grim, scenarios for the Middle East in the next decade. In a 2006 interview, Ricks suggests that, "The Bush Administration doesn't really like "stability" in the Middle East .... 'stability' has been the goal of previous administrations, but pursuing it led to 9/11..... [Stability] is not the goal, it is the target. So [the administration] are for rolling the dice, both in Iraq and in Lebanon." He goes on to say, "I think the big worry is those wars spilling over borders. Fasten your seat belts."

This review was originally published in September 2006, and has been updated for the July 2007 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.