Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

BookBrowse Reviews Turing's Delirium by Edmundo Paz Soldan

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Turing's Delirium

by Edmundo Paz Soldan

Turing's Delirium by Edmundo Paz Soldan X
Turing's Delirium by Edmundo Paz Soldan
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Jul 2006, 288 pages

    Paperback:
    Jun 2007, 304 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Set against the backdrop of the globalization crisis, Edmundo Paz Soldán’s latest novel is a modern chapter in the age-old fight between oppressed and oppressor.

From the book jacket: The town of Río Fugitivo in Bolivia is on the verge of a social revolution—not a revolution of strikes and street riots but a war waged electronically, where computer viruses are the weapons and hackers the revolutionaries. In this war of information, the lives of a variety of characters become entangled: Kandinsky, the mythic leader of a group of hackers fighting the government and transnational companies; Albert, the founder of Black Chamber, a state security firm charged with deciphering the secret codes used in the information war; and Miguel Sáenz, Black Chamber's most famous codebreaker, who begins to suspect that his work is not as innocent as he once supposed. All converge to create an edgy, fast-paced story about personal responsibility and complicity in a world defined by the ever-increasing gulfs between the global and the local, government and society, the virtual and the real.

Comment:  Edmundo Paz Soldan is the author of six novels and two short story collections (he is also a prolific blogger in Spanish). He has won the National Book Award in Bolivia, the prestigious Juan Rulfo Award, and was a finalist for the Romulo Gallegos Award. He is currently an assistant professor at Cornell University and is one of the leading lights of the McOndo movement - a growing group of South American writers who favor cultural realism over magical realism.  As Salon wrote in a 2004 article, "the fantastic, picturesque, mango-happy lifestyle -- flying grandmothers, 100-year rainfalls, butterfly storms -- that saturated the Latin American literary landscape in the 1970s has made its permanent exit. The characters in more recent Latin American novels are middle-class city dwellers with TV sets and Internet connections. If people fly, it is because they're on airplanes or drugs."

Apparently the term McOnda derives from McDonalds, Apple Macs and condos.  The movement is led by a new generation of South American writers, particularly from Chile, who take issue with how South American literature has been pigeon holed by magical realism for 30 years (pretty much since Gabriel García Márquez published One Hundred Years of Solitude in Argentina in 1967, with an English translation three years later). 

Turing's Delirium is a dark, political thriller set in the near future, in the fictitious city of Rio Fugitivo, in Soldan's home country of Bolivia.  Incidentally, Rio Fugitivo was also the setting of his previous novel, The Matter of Desire.  Turing's Delirium is an ultra-contemporary novel that, as we're bandying about literary terms, would probably be categorized by those who decide such things as cyberpunk (i.e. fast-paced science fiction involving futuristic computer-based societies); but, please don't let that description put you off - this is an excellent, fast-paced story, and an interesting contemplation on the nature of personal responsibility.  In addition, through the character of Albert, the mysterious first director of the Black Chamber, we learn much about the history of  cryptanalysis - and a fascinating history it is too.

The first few chapters are a little slow - because the novel is told from the perspective of seven different characters in three different persons - first, third, and the slightly awkward second - which takes a bit of getting to grips with, but once the groundwork is laid the plot moves at a fair clip, offering many reasons to keep reading, not least of which is the opportunity to experience a different side of Bolivia from what most of us imagine - suffice to say, it ain't all ponchos and alpaca!

As always, you can browse an excerpt and the full range of media reviews for yourself; and, if you have the time, I recommend the interview with Soldan.

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in September 2006, and has been updated for the June 2007 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  The Republic of Bolivia

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Turing's Delirium, try these:

  • Hades, Argentina jacket

    Hades, Argentina

    by Daniel Loedel

    Published 2022

    About this book

    A decade after fleeing for his life, a man is pulled back to Argentina by an undying love.

  • The Ministry of Special Cases jacket

    The Ministry of Special Cases

    by Nathan Englander

    Published 2008

    About this book

    More by this author

    In the heart of Argentina’s Dirty War, Kaddish Poznan struggles with a son who won’t accept him; strives for a wife who forever saves him; and spends his nights protecting the good name of a community that denies his existence--and denies a checkered history that only Kaddish holds dear.

We have 8 read-alikes for Turing's Delirium, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Sicilian Inheritance
    The Sicilian Inheritance
    by Jo Piazza
    Sara Marsala is going through a rough patch, to say the least. In the process of divorcing from her ...
  • Book Jacket: The Light Eaters
    The Light Eaters
    by Zoë Schlanger
    The human race is completely dependent on plants. Many people, however, give little thought to ...
  • Book Jacket: Joy Is the Justice We Give Ourselves
    Joy Is the Justice We Give Ourselves
    by J Drew Lanham
    As a recipient of the MacArthur "Genius" Grant, and a Professor of Wildlife Ecology and Master ...
  • Book Jacket: Glorious Exploits
    Glorious Exploits
    by Ferdia Lennon
    Lampo and Gelon are two unemployed potters in their thirties whose lives are spent between their ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
The Familiar
by Leigh Bardugo
From the #1 New York Times bestselling author Leigh Bardugo comes a spellbinding novel set in the Spanish Golden Age.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Daughters of Shandong
    by Eve J. Chung

    Eve J. Chung's debut novel recounts a family's flight to Taiwan during China's Communist revolution.

  • Book Jacket

    The Stolen Child
    by Ann Hood

    An unlikely duo ventures through France and Italy to solve the mystery of a child’s fate.

Win This Book
Win Only the Brave

Only the Brave by Danielle Steel

A powerful, sweeping historical novel about a courageous woman in World War II Germany.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

F T a T

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.