Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

BookBrowse Reviews Rumspringa by Tom Shachtman

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Rumspringa

To Be or Not to Be Amish

by Tom Shachtman

Rumspringa by Tom Shachtman X
Rumspringa by Tom Shachtman
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    May 2006, 304 pages

    Paperback:
    May 2007, 304 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A perceptive snapshot of the Amish and the larger culture in which they live and move. Current Affairs

From the book jacket: Rumspringa is a fascinating look at a little-known Amish coming-of-age ritual, the rumspringa - a period when Amish youth are allowed to live outside the bounds of their faith, experimenting with alcohol, premarital sex, trendy clothes, telephones, drugs, and wild parties. By allowing them such freedom, their parents hope they will learn enough to help them make the most important decision in their lives - whether to become Amish.

Comment: I was interested to read Rumspringa because I've long admired the Amish for maintaining their simple ways in a complicated world, and particularly admired the concept of rumspringa, which gives teenagers the opportunity to live outside the community, both physically and morally, while they explore the world and decided whether or not to be baptized into the Amish community. However, sad to say, having read Rumspringa, I've experienced a substantial change of opinion.

Superficially, rumspringa seems an eminently sensible idea, but the reality in the communities profiled in this book appears to be quite different. Firstly, the Amish children are kept cooped up within their community as much as possible until the age of 16 when they're given the freedom to experiment (the level of freedom depends greatly on the particular community). Many of the teens stay close to home, perhaps going to the odd Saturday-night social organized by adults, but some "spread their wings" to experience the wider world. However, the world that these teens are able to experience seems sadly limited. Not only are Amish children are not allowed to stay in school past 8th grade, so many job opportunities are closed to them; but their experience of the wider world rarely extends further than the local town - not far enough for them to really have any idea of what could be on offer to them. Added to which, having been given little or no advice on issues such as sex, drugs and alcohol, they are naive in the extreme which puts them at substantial risk. Lastly, if a teen decides not to be baptized into the community, they are not welcome to return to that community. Taking these factors into account what's surprising is not that 80-90% (estimates vary) decide to be baptized Amish, but that 10-20% have the courage of their convictions to leave!

At the heart of the Amish philosophy is a belief that humans are inherently weak and susceptible to temptation and thus need protecting - the strict rules of the community provide this protection. The central question that Shachtman explores is whether this protection is a white picket fence encompassing a beautiful garden of tranquility, or a barbed wire fence that keeps in more than it keeps out.

If you find the subject of the Amish interesting you might also enjoy the well-reviewed Ohio Amish Mystery series by P.L. Gaus. The fifth in this series, A Prayer for The Night, was published last year.

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in August 2006, and has been updated for the June 2007 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  A Brief History of the Amish

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Rumspringa, try these:

  • American Dervish jacket

    American Dervish

    by Ayad Akhtar

    Published 2012

    About this book

    More by this author

    American Dervish is a brilliantly written, nuanced, and emotionally forceful look inside the interplay of religion and modern life.

  • Irma Voth jacket

    Irma Voth

    by Miriam Toews

    Published 2012

    About this book

    More by this author

    That rare coming-of-age story able to blend the dark with the uplifting, Irma Voth follows a young Mennonite woman, vulnerable yet wise beyond her years, who carries a terrible family secret with her on a remarkable journey to survival and redemption.

We have 9 read-alikes for Rumspringa, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Tom Shachtman
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Big Time
    Big Time
    by Ben H. Winters
    Big Time, the latest offering from prolific novelist and screenwriter Ben H. Winters, is as ...
  • Book Jacket: Becoming Madam Secretary
    Becoming Madam Secretary
    by Stephanie Dray
    Our First Impressions reviewers enjoyed reading about Frances Perkins, Franklin Delano Roosevelt's ...
  • Book Jacket: The Last Bloodcarver
    The Last Bloodcarver
    by Vanessa Le
    The city-state of Theumas is a gleaming metropolis of advanced technology and innovation where the ...
  • Book Jacket: Say Hello to My Little Friend
    Say Hello to My Little Friend
    by Jennine CapĂł Crucet
    Twenty-year-old Ismael Reyes is making a living in Miami as an impersonator of the rapper/singer ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Half a Cup of Sand and Sky
by Nadine Bjursten
A poignant portrayal of a woman's quest for love and belonging amid political turmoil.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The House on Biscayne Bay
    by Chanel Cleeton

    As death stalks a gothic mansion in Miami, the lives of two women intertwine as the past and present collide.

  • Book Jacket

    The Stone Home
    by Crystal Hana Kim

    A moving family drama and coming-of-age story revealing a dark corner of South Korean history.

Who Said...

The dirtiest book of all is the expurgated book

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

M as A H

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.