BookBrowse Reviews Chew on This by Eric Schlosser, Charles W. Wilson

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Chew on This

Everything You Don't Want to Know About Fast Food

by Eric Schlosser, Charles W. Wilson

Chew on This by Eric Schlosser, Charles W. Wilson X
Chew on This by Eric Schlosser, Charles W. Wilson
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    May 2006, 270 pages
    Paperback:
    Apr 2007, 320 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A stinging exposé on the fast food industry, written for teens, by the author of Fast Food Nation

From the book jacket: Kids love fast food. And the fast food industry definitely loves kids. It couldn’t survive without them. Did you know that the biggest toy company in the world is McDonald’s? It’s true. In fact, one out of every three toys given to a child in the United States each year is from a fast food restaurant.

Not only has fast food reached into the toy industry, it’s moving into our schools. One out of every five public schools in the United States now serves brand name fast food. But do kids know what they’re eating? Where do fast food hamburgers come from? And what makes those fries taste so good?

When Eric Schlosser’s best-selling book, Fast Food Nation, was published for adults in 2001, many called for his groundbreaking insight to be shared with young people. Now Schlosser, along with co-writer Charles Wilson, has investigated the subject further, uncovering new facts children need to know.

Comment: Initially, we didn't plan on recommending Chew On This at BookBrowse - not because we didn't think it a much needed book but because we assumed it was just a simplified version of Fast Food Nation (which we'd already recommended) for older children/teens. However, three things changed our opinion.

Firstly, Chew On This doesn't simply regurgitate the "original" in "dumbed-down" form; instead the information has been substantially rewritten to be of interest to the younger audience, with additional information added, such as how the fast-food industry affects the lives of young people beyond simply eating the stuff.

Secondly, our then-12-year-old sat down and read Chew On This cover to cover and found it very interesting, as shown by the fact that we were peppered by fast facts about fast food for sometime afterwards! It didn't change his basic opinion of McDonalds et al, as we'd managed to indoctrinate him against fast food years before (with the assistance of a rat that ran across his foot in our local McDonalds when he was about six!) but it gave him the ammunition to back up his opinions.

Thirdly, The Wall Street Journal revealed that extreme tactics were being employed by certain fast food companies to discredit the book and authors in a "Swift Boat-style" campaign involving a number of official sounding organizations that all have ties to the DCI Group (a Washington lobbying firm known for its long history of opposing public health initiatives). For example, Schlosser was described as "a politically motivated activist who plays on people's fears" and the authors have been jointly accused of engaging in Nazi tactics! Which makes one wonder what would make the fast food industry so afraid that they would resort to such low tactics? In the words of Eamon Dolan, Houghton Mifflin's Vice President (who publish Chew on This),  "There's something unnerving about trying to attack a journalist's character, rather than attacking the facts!"

This review was originally published in June 2006, and has been updated for the April 2007 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    Transcription
    by Kate Atkinson
    Over her two-decade-plus career, Kate Atkinson has reinvented herself as a writer several times by ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhalation
    Exhalation
    by Ted Chiang
    Exhalation is an assemblage of nine short stories and novellas written by Ted Chiang, a computer ...
  • Book Jacket: Disappearing Earth
    Disappearing Earth
    by Julia Phillips
    On the remote peninsula of Kamchatka—tucked away on the far eastern corner of Russia and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Island of Sea Women
    The Island of Sea Women
    by Lisa See
    Lisa See's latest novel, The Island of Sea Women, follows the lives of Mi-ja and Young-sook, two ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake

    "An American epic in the truest sense…"
    Entertainment Weekly
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
The Half-Life of Everything
by Deborah Carol Gang

A beautifully written and uplifting debut novel.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Miracle Creek

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I T S Form O F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.