BookBrowse Reviews Girls in Pants by Ann Brashares

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Girls in Pants

The Third Summer of the Sisterhood

by Ann Brashares

Girls in Pants by Ann Brashares X
Girls in Pants by Ann Brashares
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jan 2005, 352 pages
    Paperback:
    Jun 2006, 368 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


More From The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants

Comment: Brashares returns to the beloved characters she brought to life in her first novel, The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants, for a new installment that's equally authentic and engaging.

I'm a big fan of the Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants series (even though I'm a couple of decades older than the intended target audience) and recommend the series to all teenage girls, and to many teenage boys (if they have the courage to read them!); but I also recommend the series to parents of teenage girls.  In our house, we're still in the pre-teen period that I believe marketing types like to call the 'tweens', but I'm already siphoning up information on teenagers, on the basis that the more I 'know' upfront the less likely it will be that I'll have to spend the next 10 years 'coping' with teenage children, and the more time we'll be able to spend enjoying each others company (dream on!).  Of course, there are endless books on every aspect of the teenage years and I have read only a tiny fraction of them.  However, what I have read reminds me of that old adage that the best way to learn is by doing. I can read endless books telling me how to be a good parent, but the beauty of reading good fiction is that you're not just reading about a situation but can actually experience what it is like to be that person - thus, I feel that reading the occasional book targeted at teens, about teens, will get me as close as I'm ever going to get to understanding the dynamics of teenagers (yes, you may laugh, but there's no harm trying!)

I've been holding off profiling this book (published in paperback in December) as I was hoping to bring you an excerpt of the third book which was published a few weeks ago, but unfortunately the publisher was unable to give BookBrowse permission to reprint an excerpt.  However, I can tell you that Girls in Pants is every bit as good as the first two!

This review is from the February 2, 2005 issue of BookBrowse Recommends. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Age of Living Machines
    The Age of Living Machines
    by Susan Hockfield
    In the face of looming global challenges, such as overpopulation, resource depletion and disease, Dr...
  • Book Jacket
    The Mars Room
    by Rachel Kushner
    There is palpable tension between expectation and reality in Rachel Kushner's third novel. The ...
  • Book Jacket: The Guest Book
    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake
    Sarah Blake's critically-acclaimed third novel The Guest Book was a hit with our First Impressions ...
  • Book Jacket: How It Feels to Float
    How It Feels to Float
    by Helena Fox
    Even though Biz's dad has been dead for ten years, he constantly visits her and tells stories about ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    More News Tomorrow
    by Susan Richards Shreve

    An irresistible portrait of a family drawn together in search of truth.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Her Kind of Case
by Jeanne Winer

A highly-recommended emotion-filled legal drama with three starred reviews!

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Conviction

Conviction by Denise Mina

The captivating, utterly unforgettable new thriller for fans of Killing Eve and The Woman in the Window

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L A Let L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.