We are proud to announce that BookBrowse has won Platinum in the 2024 Modern Library Awards.

BookBrowse Reviews Guests of the Ayatollah by Mark Bowden

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Guests of the Ayatollah

The First Battle in America's War with Militant Islam

by Mark Bowden

Guests of the Ayatollah by Mark Bowden X
Guests of the Ayatollah by Mark Bowden
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Apr 2006, 704 pages

    Paperback:
    Mar 2007, 704 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A monumental piece of reportage, deserving a wide readership

From the book jacket: On November 4, 1979, a group of radical Islamist students stormed the U.S. embassy in Tehran. Inspired by the revolutionary Iranian leader Ayatollah Khomeini, they hoped to stage a three-day sit-in protest of the American decision to allow exiled Iranian leader Shah Mohammed Reza to enter the United States for medical treatment. But these modest, peaceful aims were supplanted by something much more severe and dangerous. The students took sixty-six Americans hostage and kept the majority of them for 444 days in a prolonged conflict that riveted the world.

The Iran hostage crisis was a watershed moment in American history. It was America's first showdown with Islamist fundamentalism, a confrontation that has remained at the forefront of American policy to this day. In Iran, following the ousting of the Shah, a provisional government was established, and for a critical moment in the modern age's first Islamist revolution, a more open and democratic society seemed possible. But the religious hardliners on the Revolutionary Council used the hostage crisis as an opportunity to purge moderates from the leadership ranks. They altered the course of the revolution and set Iran on the extreme path it follows to this day.

Comment: It's difficult to overstate the impact of the Iran hostage crisis. For more than 14 months the saga captivated the American people and much of the world; it crippled Jimmy Carter's re-election campaign and is even responsible for spawning a new late-night TV program, which became Nightline. Without it it's likely that a more moderate, secular government would have taken charge in Iran, and Jimmy Carter would have won a second term as President of the USA; which would have meant that Ronald Reagan would not have dominated American politics in the '90s, and there would have been no Vice-President Bush to become President and thus, more than likely, no George W. to take over the reigns of power in 2001. The great irony is that the Iranian students didn't intend to take hostages, let alone bring down a government (or two), they simply wanted to stage a protest.

As you would expect from a 700 page book, Guests of the Ayatollah covers the entire crisis in detail, including presidential vacillations (and the behind-the-scenes reasons for the vacillations) the failed rescue attempts, and the politics, but Bowden also gives much space to the hostages themselves, some of whom are fascinating people in their own right. For example, John Limbert, who knew more about Iran's history than most of his captors and spent much of his time translating books from English into Farsi.

It took Bowden five years to write Guests of The Ayatollah during which time he interviewed dozens of people including Delta Force members, State Department staffers, hostages and hostage-takers. The result is a compelling non-fiction work that reads like a novel. Among a number of interesting facts he highlights is that many ex-hostages believe that Iran's current president, Mahmoud Ahmadinejad, was one of the hostage-takers (a fact which is disputed by Ahmadinejad, other hostage takers and, apparently, the CIA).

Bowden draws parallels between the embassy takeover, that helped the mullahs overcome secular nationalists within Iran, and the situation today in which the pendulum appears to be swinging back to the hard-line vision of 25 years ago. As Bowden says, "Iran thrives on the disapproval of the rest of the world... when they come into conflict, it's almost reassuring. It re-stokes the fires of the revolution." A fact that the British government no doubt kept in mind during the almost two-week standoff involving 15 members of the British Navy and Marines taken hostage by the Iranians in March.

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in June 2006, and has been updated for the April 2007 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Guests of the Ayatollah, try these:

  • The Islamic Enlightenment jacket

    The Islamic Enlightenment

    by Christopher de Bellaigue

    Published 2018

    About this book

    A revelatory and game-changing narrative that rewrites everything we thought we knew about the modern history of the Islamic world.

  • The Siege of Mecca jacket

    The Siege of Mecca

    by Yaroslav Trofimov

    Published 2008

    About this book

    More by this author

    The dramatic and immensely consequential story of the violent takeover of Islam's holiest shrine, the Grand Mosque in Mecca, by Muslim fundamentalists in 1979. With nearly 100,000 worshipers trapped inside the holy compound, Mecca’s bloody siege lasted two weeks, inflaming Muslim rage against the United States with repercussions we still feel...

We have 6 read-alikes for Guests of the Ayatollah, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Mark Bowden
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Ascent
    The Ascent
    by Adam Plantinga
    Adam Plantinga's brilliant debut novel, The Ascent, introduces readers to former Detroit police ...
  • Book Jacket: The Curse of Pietro Houdini
    The Curse of Pietro Houdini
    by Derek B. Miller
    Derek B. Miller's sixth novel, The Curse of Pietro Houdini, opens in the town of Cassino, Italy, in ...
  • Book Jacket: Our Moon
    Our Moon
    by Rebecca Boyle
    In Our Moon: How Earth's Celestial Companion Transformed the Planet, Guided Evolution, and Made Us ...
  • Book Jacket: Neighbors and Other Stories
    Neighbors and Other Stories
    by Diane Oliver
    The history of American segregation, along with changes to it in the 1960s, is sometimes taught and ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Mockingbird Summer
by Lynda Rutledge
A powerful and emotional coming-of-age novel set in the 1960s by the bestselling author of West with Giraffes.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Leaving
    by Roxana Robinson

    An engrossing exploration of the vows we make to one another and what we owe to others and ourselves.

  • Book Jacket

    Strong Passions
    by Barbara Weisberg

    Shocking revelations of a wife's adultery in 19th New York explode in an incendiary trial exposing the upper-crust and its secrets.

Win This Book
Win The Cleaner

The Cleaner
by Brandi Wells

Rarely has cubicle culture been depicted in such griminess or with such glee."
PW (starred review)

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I Wouldn't T H W A T-F P

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.