BookBrowse Reviews The Poe Shadow by Matthew Pearl

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Poe Shadow

by Matthew Pearl

The Poe Shadow
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    May 2006, 384 pages
    Paperback:
    Jul 2007, 384 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Pearl masterfully combines fact with fiction and presents some genuinely new historical clues that help reconstruct Poe's final days.

The author of The Dante Club returns with his sophomore novel, set in mid 19th century Baltimore and Paris. If you're partial to historical mysteries and especially if you're a fan of Edgar Allan Poe, this is one that might be of interest.

Personally, I found it good but not great. Towards the middle, when the plot rambled a little, I recollect thinking that I hoped it would be worth it - and overall it was - but it wasn't a book that kept me up at night! Judge for yourself by reading an excerpt at BookBrowse.

If you do decide to read The Poe Shadow in full you'd be wise to first read/re-read Poe's 3 short stories featuring Auguste Dupin (The Murders in the Rue Morgue, The Mystery of Marie Roget and The Purloined Letter).

Also, Poe fans (indeed fans of high quality historical thrillers per se) will want to take a look at The Pale Blue Eye by Louis Bayard in ...

Did you know?
In his extremely popular children's books, A Series of Unfortunate Events, Lemony Snicket (aka Daniel Handler) pays tribute to Poe - the orphan children's guardian is named Poe, and his children are Edgar and Allan.

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.