Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

BookBrowse Reviews The Poe Shadow by Matthew Pearl

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Poe Shadow

by Matthew Pearl

The Poe Shadow by Matthew Pearl X
The Poe Shadow by Matthew Pearl
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    May 2006, 384 pages

    Paperback:
    Jul 2007, 384 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Pearl masterfully combines fact with fiction and presents some genuinely new historical clues that help reconstruct Poe's final days.

The author of The Dante Club returns with his sophomore novel, set in mid 19th century Baltimore and Paris. If you're partial to historical mysteries and especially if you're a fan of Edgar Allan Poe, this is one that might be of interest.

Personally, I found it good but not great. Towards the middle, when the plot rambled a little, I recollect thinking that I hoped it would be worth it - and overall it was - but it wasn't a book that kept me up at night! Judge for yourself by reading an excerpt at BookBrowse.

If you do decide to read The Poe Shadow in full you'd be wise to first read/re-read Poe's 3 short stories featuring Auguste Dupin (The Murders in the Rue Morgue, The Mystery of Marie Roget and The Purloined Letter).

Also, Poe fans (indeed fans of high quality historical thrillers per se) will want to take a look at The Pale Blue Eye by Louis Bayard in which Poe teams up with a New York City Detective. Published in May 2006 to very good reviews, it has just been released in paperback.

Did you know?
In his extremely popular children's books, A Series of Unfortunate Events, Lemony Snicket (aka Daniel Handler) pays tribute to Poe - the orphan children's guardian is named Poe, and his children are Edgar and Allan.

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in June 2006, and has been updated for the July 2007 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  Edgar Allan Poe

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked The Poe Shadow, try these:

  • The Puzzle Master jacket

    The Puzzle Master

    by Danielle Trussoni

    Published 2024

    About this book

    More by this author

    Reality and the supernatural collide when an expert puzzle maker is thrust into an ancient mystery—one with explosive consequences for the fate of humanity—in this suspenseful thriller from the New York Times bestselling author of Angelology

  • A Mystery of Mysteries jacket

    A Mystery of Mysteries

    by Mark Dawidziak

    Published 2024

    About this book

    A Mystery of Mysteries is a brilliant biography of Edgar Allan Poe that examines the renowned author's life through the prism of his mysterious death and its many possible causes.

We have 9 read-alikes for The Poe Shadow, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Matthew Pearl
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket
    A Kind of Madness
    by Uche Okonkwo
    The word "madness," like many others that can be used to stigmatize mental illness — e.g., "...
  • Book Jacket: Long After We Are Gone
    Long After We Are Gone
    by Terah Shelton Harris
    Terah Shelton Harris's marvelous family drama Long After We Are Gone begins with the death of the ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhibit
    Exhibit
    by R O. Kwon
    Exhibit, R.O. Kwon's sophomore novel (after The Incendiaries, 2018), introduces readers to Jin Han, ...
  • Book Jacket: Somehow
    Somehow
    by Anne Lamott
    Anne Lamott knows a thing or two about love. In fact, there is so much of it exuding from her essay ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
The Pecan Children
by Quinn Connor
Two sisters deeply tied to their small Southern town fight to break free of the darkness swallowing the land whole.
Book Jacket
Long After We Are Gone
by Terah Shelton Harris
After their father's death, four siblings rally to save their family home in this gripping and hopeful tale.
Win This Book
Win Bright and Tender Dark

Bright and Tender Dark by Joanna Pearson

A beautifully written, wire-taut debut novel about a murder on a college campus and its aftermath twenty years later.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A W in S C

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.