BookBrowse Reviews A Special Education by Dana Buchman

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

A Special Education

One Family's Journey Through the Maze of Learning Disabilities

by Dana Buchman

A Special Education by Dana Buchman X
A Special Education by Dana Buchman
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Feb 2006, 208 pages
    Paperback:
    Mar 2007, 196 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A mother tells of her daughter's severe struggle with learning disabilities. Biography/Education

From the book jacket: Fashion designer Dana Buchman knew almost nothing about "learning differences" when her oldest daughter, Charlotte, was diagnosed with neurological, spatial, and motor skill disabilities as a toddler. Furthermore, from the Ivy League to the launch of her own fashion label, Buchman had encountered few obstacles that couldn't be overcome through hard work and determination. Unfortunately, Buchman's well-developed ability to "fix" things would not serve her in her efforts to deal with Charlotte's disabilities; she would have to develop a new skill set to be able to see Charlotte as a person with unique abilities.

A riveting and intensely personal memoir, A Special Education reveals the long and arduous process of Charlotte's development as well as Buchman's own path to self-discovery. Confessing frequent anxiety, guilt, frustration, and anger, she describes the difficult search to find the right school and care for Charlotte and the strain the process put on her marriage and family life. In addition, Buchman tells of her own struggles with excessive drinking and workaholism - and of finally letting go of her drive to be "perfect."

Comment: I'm not big on celebrity tell-all stories, so I didn't hold out much hope for A Special Education.  After all, just because Dana Buchman happens to be a famous fashion designer, why should her views carry any more weight than the countless other parents experiencing similar situations whose stories remain untold?  So I was happily surprised to find her account surprisingly readable; if her solution had been to throw money and experts at her daughter's "problems" then I would have put the book aside, but her point is that she was the one who had to change in order to recognize her daughter's unique abilities - and, as a parent, that's a lesson I can appreciate.  As Library Journal says, "Kudos to Buchman for her forthright memoir, which should go a long way toward lifting the stigma of learning disabilities."  Booklist adds, "Families facing similar issues will appreciate this heartfelt and inspiring book."

This review is from the March 20, 2006 issue of BookBrowse Recommends. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Guest House for Young Widows
    Guest House for Young Widows
    by Azadeh Moaveni
    Win this book!
    Win The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

    The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

    An enchanting story for fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Elegance of the Hedgehog.

    Enter

    Word Play

    Solve this clue:

    L, Damn L, A S

    and be entered to win..

    Books that     
    entertain,
         engage

     & enlighten

    Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

    Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.

 



© BookBrowse LLC 1997-2019. All rights reserved. Information at BookBrowse.com is published with the permission of the copyright holder or their agent.
It is forbidden to copy anything for publication elsewhere without written permission from the copyright holder.