BookBrowse Reviews Becoming Strangers by Louise Dean

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Becoming Strangers

by Louise Dean

Becoming Strangers by Louise Dean
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jan 2006, 320 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 2007, 320 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A book that is poignant, often funny and unexpectedly redemptive. First novel

From the book jacket: After more than half a century of marriage, Dorothy and George are embarking on their first journey abroad together. Three decades younger, Jan and Annemieke are taking their last, as illness and incompatibility bring their unhappy union to an end. At first the luxury of a Caribbean resort is no match for the well-worn patterns of domestic life. Then the couples' paths cross, and a series of surprises ensues - a disappearance and an assault, most dramatically, but also a teapot tempest of passions, slights, misunderstandings, and small awakenings that punctuate a week in which each pair struggles to come to terms with what's been keeping them apart.

Comment: Becoming Strangers is a highly enjoyable read, not least for Dean's exceptional ability to turn a phrase starting with her opening sentence: "Before he'd had cancer he'd been bored with life. Since he'd taken dying seriously, he'd been busy..."

This opening sentence sets the central theme: How to come to terms with the life one has created especially when it's too late to change it? 

As one reviewer observes. "Is there any sadness more profound than the realization that your life, as it draws to a close, has been under used, maybe even ill used? For those not staring directly at death, the question stands: how do we cope with who we are, who we no longer want to be, or who we no longer want to be with?"

Dean's acutely observed small scale action centers on two couples: Dorothy and George, a working class British couple who feel totally out of place at such an up market Caribbean spa resort (the holiday is a misguided gift from their granddaughter, who earns a fortune as a London banker), and the DeGroots, a sophisticated middle-aged couple from Belgium spending their last vacation together (the vacation is a gift from their sons). The DeGroots have nothing in common with Dorothy and George (or with each other for that matter) but circumstances throw the unhappy couples together as each individual battles his or her own demons: Jan's recognition that he has lost his fight against cancer and his regrets for his loveless marriage; Annemieke's fear of old age and overwhelming loneliness; George's denial of Dorothy's Alzheimer's, and Dorothy's wish that George would stop denying that there is something wrong with her.

Dean's ability to portray the tragic-comedy of everyday lives with empathic but laser-sharp wit sets Becoming Strangers way above most first novels, and presages a wonderful future for this talented author.

This review was originally published in April 2006, and has been updated for the January 2007 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.



This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Force
    The Force
    by Don Winslow
    Intense! That's the word. Winslow's The Force rips through its four hundred pages with the...
  • Book Jacket: Shadow Man
    Shadow Man
    by Alan Drew
    Alan Drew's debut novel, Gardens of Water, was an ambitious work of literary fiction set amid ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Noise of Time
    by Julian Barnes
    Confession: I do two terrible – some say unforgivable – things while reading a book. First...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
June by Miranda Beverly-Whittemore

A novel of suspense and passion about a terrible mistake that changed a family forever.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.