Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

BookBrowse Reviews The Memory Keeper's Daughter by Kim Edwards

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Memory Keeper's Daughter

by Kim Edwards

The Memory Keeper's Daughter by Kim Edwards X
The Memory Keeper's Daughter by Kim Edwards
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jun 2005, 416 pages

    Paperback:
    May 2006, 432 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A brilliantly crafted family drama that explores every mother's silent fear: what would happen if you lost your child and she grew up without you? 1st Novel

From the book jacket: On a winter night in 1964, Dr. David Henry is forced by a blizzard to deliver his own twins. His son, born first, is perfectly healthy. Yet when his daughter is born, he sees immediately that she has Down's syndrome. Rationalizing it as a need to protect Norah, his wife, he makes a split second decision that will alter all of their lives forever. He asks the nurse to take the baby away to an institution and never to reveal the secret. But Caroline, the nurse, cannot leave the infant. Instead, she disappears into another city to raise the child herself. So begins this beautifully told story that unfolds over a quarter of a century in which these two families, ignorant of each other, are yet bound by David Henry's fateful decision that long-ago winter night.

Comment: It could be easy to cast David as the bad guy in Edwards's first novel, after all he's the one who rejects his daughter in a split second decision that will impact every member of his family, more than he could have imagined, but Edwards makes sure that we see his decision in the context of the times and also his personal experience - losing his own sister at the age of 12.  The irony in The Memory Keeper's Daughter lies in the depiction of the parallel lives the two families lead - on the one hand, the picture perfect family of three distanced from each other by the secret that only David knows; and the other, the tale of Caroline, the nurse, who cannot bring herself to take the baby and instead raises her as her own - a single-mother with a disabled daughter who manage to find happiness despite facing a largely unsympathetic world and an inflexible school system.

The Memory Keeper's Daughter is not without faults - it is a little syrupy at times and Edwards is challenged to maintain the impact of her opening pages,  but it is still a very good first novel and one that would make for good discussion in a book group. 

About the author:
This is Edwards's first novel following her short story collection, The Secrets of a Fire King" In the interview at BookBrowse, she explains that the initial idea for  The Memory Keeper's Daughter came to her after being told a true story by the pastor of her church about a man who'd discovered, late in life, that his brother had been born with Down’s Syndrome, placed in an institution at birth, and kept a secret from his family, even from his own mother, all his life, and died in the same institute, unknown.  She says she was struck by the story but it was many years before she decided to write it.  Her decision was triggered when she ran a writing workshop for adults with mental challenges which left a deep impression on her.  She is currently working on a novel currently titled The Dream Master, set in the Finger Lakes area of upstate New York where she grew up.

This review first ran in the June 1, 2006 issue of BookBrowse Recommends.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked The Memory Keeper's Daughter, try these:

  • The Memory Palace jacket

    The Memory Palace

    by Mira Bartok

    Published 2011

    About this book

    The Memory Palace is a breathtaking literary memoir about the complex meaning of love, truth, and the capacity for forgiveness among family.

  • We Need to Talk About Kevin jacket

    We Need to Talk About Kevin

    by Lionel Shriver

    Published 2006

    About this book

    More by this author

    Eva never really wanted to be a mother—and certainly not the mother of the unlovable boy who murdered fellow high-school friends and staff in a horrific rampage. Two years later, it is time for Eva to come to terms with her life and the decisions she made.

We have 5 read-alikes for The Memory Keeper's Daughter, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Kim Edwards
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Clear
    Clear
    by Carys Davies
    John Ferguson is a principled man. But when, in 1843, those principles drive him to break from the ...
  • Book Jacket: Change
    Change
    by Edouard Louis
    Édouard Louis's 2014 debut novel, The End of Eddy—an instant literary success, published ...
  • Book Jacket: Big Time
    Big Time
    by Ben H. Winters
    Big Time, the latest offering from prolific novelist and screenwriter Ben H. Winters, is as ...
  • Book Jacket: Becoming Madam Secretary
    Becoming Madam Secretary
    by Stephanie Dray
    Our First Impressions reviewers enjoyed reading about Frances Perkins, Franklin Delano Roosevelt's ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Half a Cup of Sand and Sky
by Nadine Bjursten
A poignant portrayal of a woman's quest for love and belonging amid political turmoil.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Flower Sisters
    by Michelle Collins Anderson

    From the new Fannie Flagg of the Ozarks, a richly-woven story of family, forgiveness, and reinvention.

  • Book Jacket

    The House on Biscayne Bay
    by Chanel Cleeton

    As death stalks a gothic mansion in Miami, the lives of two women intertwine as the past and present collide.

Win This Book
Win The Funeral Cryer

The Funeral Cryer by Wenyan Lu

Debut novelist Wenyan Lu brings us this witty yet profound story about one woman's midlife reawakening in contemporary rural China.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

M as A H

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.