Summer Sale! Save 20% today and get access to all our member benefits.

BookBrowse Reviews Torch by Cheryl Strayed

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Torch

by Cheryl Strayed

Torch by Cheryl Strayed X
Torch by Cheryl Strayed
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Feb 2006, 336 pages

    Paperback:
    Jan 2007, 336 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


The wonderful characters in Torch come alive and stay with you long after the novel ends. Debut Novel

From the book jacket: A family founders after a mother's death in this beautifully observed debut.  Cheryl Strayed has a deep appreciation for the shifting rhythms between siblings and parents and for the beautiful terrors of learning how to keep living. The wonderful characters in Torch come alive and stay with you long after the novel ends.

Comment: 
As a teenage mother, Teresa and her two children fled her abusive husband and settled in rural Minnesota, where she fell in love with a local carpenter, raised two good kids, and became renowned for her decency and intelligence, and for her radio show, "Modern Pioneers".  Then, in her late thirties, with a teenage son, a daughter in college and a devoted common-law husband, she discovers she has terminal cancer, and dies shortly afterwards.  How her family deals with the loss of their linchpin forms the crux of this powerful debut novel.

The critics praise Strayed's use of language and her ability to describe the process of grief authentically (a knowledge that comes from first hand experience, see sidebar).   If you've appreciated books such as Joan Didion's The Year of Magical Thinking or Lolly Winston's Good Grief, then Torch is likely to be a shoe-in for you.

"Torch is a deeply compelling, wonderfully crafted story about a journey into, through, and past grief . . . I loved the honesty of this novel, the way it looked at every aspect of loss and recovery -- the pain, the joy, the absurdity, the anger, the despair, the hope, and the great beauty -- without ever holding back." - Elizabeth Berg.

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in February 2006, and has been updated for the January 2007 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Torch, try these:

  • The Year of Magical Thinking jacket

    The Year of Magical Thinking

    by Joan Didion

    Published 2007

    About this book

    More by this author

    'An act of consummate literary bravery, a writer known for her clarity allowing us to watch her mind as it becomes clouded with grief.'

  • Maybe A Miracle jacket

    Maybe A Miracle

    by Brian Strause

    Published 2006

    About this book

    By turns humorous and heartbreaking, personal and sweeping, familiar and extraordinary, Brian Strause's first novel takes readers on an unforgettable emotional journey into America's heartland.

We have 5 read-alikes for Torch, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Cheryl Strayed
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Night of Baba Yaga
    The Night of Baba Yaga
    by Akira Otani, Sam Bett
    When Yoriko Shindo gets into a brawl on a busy street in 1970s Tokyo, she has no idea what the ...
  • Book Jacket: The Anthropologists
    The Anthropologists
    by Aysegül Savas
    A documentary filmmaker, Asya is interested in the "unremarkable grace" of daily life, "the slow and...
  • Book Jacket: Mood Swings
    Mood Swings
    by Frankie Barnet
    This book begins with a bombastic premise. Seemingly fed up with the heating planet, the world's ...
  • Book Jacket: The Ballad of Jacquotte Delahaye
    The Ballad of Jacquotte Delahaye
    by Briony Cameron
    Our titular heroine's story begins in Yáquimo, Santo Domingo. Jacquotte Delahaye is a young ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
The 1619 Project
by Nikole Hannah-Jones
An impactful expansion of groundbreaking journalism, The 1619 Project offers a revealing vision of America's past and present.
Who Said...

A library is a temple unabridged with priceless treasure...

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

L T C O of the B

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.