BookBrowse Reviews Love and Other Impossible Pursuits by Ayelet Waldman

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Love and Other Impossible Pursuits

by Ayelet Waldman

Love and Other Impossible Pursuits by Ayelet Waldman X
Love and Other Impossible Pursuits by Ayelet Waldman
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jan 2006, 352 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 2007, 352 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A strikingly beautiful novel for our time, tackling the absurdities of modern life and reminding us why we love some people no matter what

From the book jacket: For Emilia Greenleaf, life is by turns a comedy of errors and an emotional minefield. Yes, she's a Harvard Law grad who married her soul mate. Yes, they live in elegant comfort on the Upper West Side of Manhattan. But with her one-and-only, Jack, came a stepson—a know-it-all preschooler named William who has become her number one responsibility every Wednesday afternoon. With William, Emilia encounters a number of impossible pursuits—such as the pursuit of cab drivers who speed away when they see William's industrial-strength car seat and the pursuit of lactose-free, strawberry-flavored, patisserie-quality cupcakes, despite the fact that William's allergy is a figment of his over-protective mother's imagination.

As much as Emilia wants to find common ground with William, she becomes completely preoccupied when she loses her newborn daughter. After this, the sight of any child brings her to tears, and Wednesdays with William are almost impossible. When his unceasing questions turn to the baby's death, Emilia is at a total loss. Doesn't anyone understand that self-pity is a full-time job? Ironically, it is only through her blundering attempts to bond with William that she finally heals herself and learns what family really means.

Comment: Crossing Central Park to pick up her stepson once a week is a minefield of emotions for Emilia.  The women with their strollers and, worst of all the playgrounds with their happy, playing children and watchful mothers, eat away at her soul reminding her of Isabel, the daughter she lost to SIDS at just two days old.  She blows up at her sister, is at breaking point with her husband, can't abide his ex-wife, and the final straw are the innocent but precocious questions of 5-year-old William, son of her husband and ex-wife, who is her responsibility one afternoon a week. 

She knows she should love William, or at least attempt to like him, especially considering that it is her affair with his father that has turned his five-year-old life on end; but with Isabel dead she just can't stand the sight of him, or pretty much anyone else for that matter.  She pushes away all who try to get close to her by liberally inflicting hurt on all around, especially on little William, who despite being mature for his age is still just a little kid desperately struggling with his own very real concerns. 

How should the reader side?   How much sympathy should we have for Emilia?  How much hurt is it acceptable for her to inflict in her pain, and on who?  The novel's turning point is when her husband's patience finally gives in and they face off in a make or break moment; but the absolution that allows her to start to rebuild her life and come to terms with her lot comes from a different source.  At the end of this heartfelt and well-paced novel nothing tangible has changed; Emilia still misses Isabel, still finds William's questions trying, still finds it a challenge to cope with the ex-wife; but she has survived and grown through her grief, having been transformed into someone who can appreciate the "accidental beauty" of life in both the good and bad moments.

"A beautiful novel. If you are not moved to tears, then your heart is carved from wood." -- Andrew Sean Greer, author of The Confessions of Max Tivoli.

This review was originally published in February 2006, and has been updated for the January 2007 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    Transcription
    by Kate Atkinson
    Over her two-decade-plus career, Kate Atkinson has reinvented herself as a writer several times by ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhalation
    Exhalation
    by Ted Chiang
    Exhalation is an assemblage of nine short stories and novellas written by Ted Chiang, a computer ...
  • Book Jacket: Disappearing Earth
    Disappearing Earth
    by Julia Phillips
    On the remote peninsula of Kamchatka—tucked away on the far eastern corner of Russia and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Island of Sea Women
    The Island of Sea Women
    by Lisa See
    Lisa See's latest novel, The Island of Sea Women, follows the lives of Mi-ja and Young-sook, two ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake

    "An American epic in the truest sense…"
    Entertainment Weekly
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
An American Marriage
by Tayari Jones

A masterpiece of storytelling, and a 2018 Oprah's Book Club Selection.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Miracle Creek

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I T S Form O F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.