MLA Platinum Award Press Release

BookBrowse Reviews The Extraordinary Adventures of Alfred Kropp by Richard (Rick) Yancey

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Extraordinary Adventures of Alfred Kropp

by Richard (Rick) Yancey

The Extraordinary Adventures of Alfred Kropp by Richard (Rick) Yancey X
The Extraordinary Adventures of Alfred Kropp by Richard (Rick) Yancey
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Oct 2005, 375 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 2007, 352 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Yancey's first novel for YAs is a white-knuckle, page-turning read. Teens

From the book jacket: Alfred Kropp was just trying to survive high school when his guardian uncle gets him roped into a suspicious get-rich-quick scheme that changes his life forever: stealing Excalibur—the legendary sword of King Arthur. After Alfred unwittingly delivers the sword into the hands of a man with enormously evil intentions, he sets off on an unlikely quest to try to right his wrong and save the world from imminent destruction. This gripping, fast-paced, hilarious novel is both a thrilling adventure story and an engaging account of one boy's coming of age.

Comments: Unusually tall 15-year-old Alfred is going through life somewhat apathetically but nonetheless safely, until his dodgy uncle embroils him in  a scheme to steal an ancient sword from somebody's office.  That somebody happens to be a descendent of one of the Knights of the Round Table and the sword is, of course, Excalibur - and he who wields Excalibur is invincible, so lots of people are keen to get their hands on it. 

Before Alfred's got time to think about his unfinished homework he finds himself caught up with yet more descendents of the Round Table - the dastardly Mogart and the honorable Bennacio in this light-hearted, somewhat violent (heads do roll) tale of quest and adventure, the first in a planned series.

Extrapolating from the old adage that one can judge a man by the company he keeps; a good way to decide whether one might like a particular author's style could be to find out what authors he admires!  In Yancey's case he claims his favorite books to be Charlie & The Chocolate Factory, for the humor; The Hobbit, for the whimsy and the adventure; The Borrowers, A Wrinkle in Time, and above all others, Roald Dahl.  If these are your sort of books, then there's a good chance Yancey will be your sort of author - or rather, he's an author that you might wish to introduce to any 'young adult' readers in your life.

While you're about it you might want to check out his 2004 memoir for yourself, which Amazon describe as follows:  "Imagine if Brad Meltzer or John Grisham's first book had been a memoir about working for the Internal Revenue Service and you have an idea of just how thrilling Richard Yancey's Confessions of a Tax Collector: One Man's Tour of Duty Inside the IRS really is!"

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in November 2005, and has been updated for the January 2007 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Black Cathedral
    The Black Cathedral
    by Marcial Gala
    Marcial Gala's The Black Cathedral, translated from the Spanish by Anna Kushner, is narrated through...
  • Book Jacket: When We Were Vikings
    When We Were Vikings
    by Andrew David MacDonald
    In When We Were Vikings by Andrew David MacDonald, readers are first introduced to Zelda on her ...
  • Book Jacket: How to Build a Heart
    How to Build a Heart
    by Maria Padian
    Maria Padian is well-known for her motif of exploring teen reactions to social issues. Her novel ...
  • Book Jacket: Follow Me to Ground
    Follow Me to Ground
    by Sue Rainsford
    Ada and her father are human-like beings who age slowly and possess the power to heal all illness. ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Splendid and the Vile
    by Erik Larson

    A fresh and compelling portrait of Winston Churchill and London during the Blitz.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Sun Down Motel
    by Simone St. James

    The chilling new novel from the national bestselling and award-winning author of The Broken Girls.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
Remembrance
by Rita Woods

A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground Railroad and Orphan Train.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win The Lost Family

The Lost Family
by Libby Copeland

A deeply reported look at the rise of home genetic testing and the seismic shock it has had on individual lives.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A F I Need I A F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.