BookBrowse Reviews The Penderwicks by Jeanne Birdsall

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Penderwicks

A Summer Tale of Four Sisters, Two Rabbits, and a Very Interesting Boy

by Jeanne Birdsall

The Penderwicks by Jeanne Birdsall X
The Penderwicks by Jeanne Birdsall
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jun 2005, 272 pages
    Paperback:
    Mar 2007, 272 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


"Problems are solved and lessons learned in this wonderful, humorous book that features characters whom readers will immediately love, as well as a superb writing style." - Ages 8-12

From the book jacket: This summer the Penderwick sisters have a wonderful surprise: a holiday on the grounds of a beautiful estate called Arundel. Soon they are busy discovering the summertime magic of Arundel's sprawling gardens, treasure-filled attic, tame rabbits, and the cook who makes the best gingerbread in Massachusetts. But the best discovery of all is Jeffrey Tifton, son of Arundel's owner, who quickly proves to be the perfect companion for their adventures.  The icy-hearted Mrs. Tifton is not as pleased with the Penderwicks as Jeffrey is, though, and warns the new friends to stay out of trouble. Which, of course, they will—won't they? One thing's for sure: it will be a summer the Penderwicks will never forget.  Deliciously nostalgic and quaintly witty, this is a story as breezy and carefree as a summer day.

Comments: The media reviews of The Penderwicks are universally favorable (other than the odd quibble here and there about minor plot elements), the National Book Award judges named it the 2005 winner of the children's literature category, and BookBrowse's subscribers voted it the best children's book of 2005. 

Critics variously describe it as happy, comforting, a throwback to the 1950s (although it's set in the current day), humorous, with characters that readers will immediately love, as well as a superb writing style. Comparisons are made to older titles/series such as The Five Little Peppers, The Happy Hollisters, Pollyanna, Little Women and to more recent books such as those by Hilary McKay.  However, cynically speaking, all the media reviews are written by adults who see in The Penderwicks something of the books they enjoyed as children.  The questions is, what do today's children aged 8-12 (the intended audience) think of it? 

To answer this I scoured the web for reader reviews and found about an equal number of reviews by adults and children, the vast majority are strongly in favor (4.5/5 at Amazon, 5/5 at BN.com). Next, we did what we always do - read it aloud to our son and daughter, then aged 10 and 12, (children are never too old to be read to!) and it was a huge success with all of us. 

Some children's books can be very hard going for an adult to read (our daughter's enthralled by Eldest by Christopher Paolini at the moment, and I have a very hard time reading just the couple of pages that she begs of me from time to time); other books have appealed greatly to the judges of children's book awards but have left their intended audience unmoved.

However, first time author Jeanne Birdsall has somehow hit on the narrow but golden middle-ground - bringing us a family that is idiosyncratic without being ridiculously eccentric, and a charming set of children who are opinionated but not obnoxious.   Little Batty, in particular, is a winner. I look forward to seeing if Birdsall can continue to work the same magic in the follow up due to be published in 2008, which will feature the four Penderwick children and a boy called Tommy Geiger who lives across the street and loves football above all.

This review was originally published in November 2005, and has been updated for the March 2007 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.