BookBrowse Reviews The Water Mirror by Kai Meyer

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Water Mirror

by Kai Meyer

The Water Mirror by Kai Meyer
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Oct 2005, 256 pages
    Paperback:
    Aug 2006, 272 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A thrilling, sinister adventure, and long-time bestseller in Germany, now available in English. Ages 12+

From the book jacket: In Venice, magic is not unusual. Merle is apprenticed to a magic mirror maker, and Serafin -- a boy who was once a master thief -- works for a weaver of magic cloth. Merle and Serafin are used to the mermaids who live in the canals of the city -- beautiful creatures with hideous mouths that split their faces from ear to ear -- and to the guards who patrol the streets on living stone lions. Merle herself possesses something magical: a mirror whose surface is water. She can reach her whole arm into it and never get wet.

But Venice is under siege by the Egyptian Empire; its terrifying mummy warriors and flying sunbarks are waiting to strike. All that protects the Venetians is the Flowing Queen. Nobody knows who or what she is -- only that her power flows through the canals and keeps the Egyptians at bay.  When Merle and Serafin overhear a plot to capture the Flowing Queen, they are catapulted into desperate danger. They must do everything they can to rescue the Queen and save the city -- even if it means getting help from the Ancient Traitor himself.

Comment: Set in a mythical medievalesque version of Venice - a ruined city under siege, replete with mermaids, flying stone lions and mummy warriors - this is a slightly off-beat series that is likely to appeal to readers aged about 12-years or more, who are able to keep track of multiple story threads and enjoy books by the likes of Diana Wynne Jones, Tamora Pierce or Philip Pullman (His Dark Materials etc).

'What a fantastic book!. The story is paced extremely well, starting quietly and simply, building in measured steps to breakneck thrill ride speed without losing any passengers (readers). Kai Meyer writes with a very particular literary shorthand which provides rich detail without sacrificing the forward momentum. There's a wonderful foreignness to the story, akin to Cornelia Funke's Thief Lord, which will appeal to readers yearning for an exotic experience.' - Christopher Stroth, Books Inc., Burlingame, CA.

This review was originally published in November 2005, and has been updated for the August 2006 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.



This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    Smoke
    by Dan Vyleta
    In Dan Vyleta's universe, set in an alternate Victorian England, people engaging in sinful thought ...
  • Book Jacket: Golden Hill
    Golden Hill
    by Francis Spufford
    Spufford brings American history to raucous life through the story of Mr. Richard Smith, a ...
  • Book Jacket: Midnight at the Electric
    Midnight at the Electric
    by Jodi Lynn Anderson
    The world changes, but humanity stays the same. Whether a book takes place in the year 1510 or 2010,...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
June by Miranda Beverly-Whittemore

A novel of suspense and passion about a terrible mistake that changed a family forever.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.