BookBrowse Reviews Son of a Witch by Gregory Maguire

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Son of a Witch

by Gregory Maguire

Son of a Witch by Gregory Maguire X
Son of a Witch by Gregory Maguire
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 2005, 352 pages
    Paperback:
    Oct 2006, 356 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Return to Oz with the sequel to Gregory Maguire's Wicked.

From the book jacket: Ten years after the publication of Wicked, Gregory Maguire returns to the land of Oz. There he introduces us to Liir, an adolescent boy last seen hiding in the shadows of the castle after Dorothy did in the Witch. Bruised, comatose, and left for dead in a gully, Liir is shattered in spirit as well as in form. But he is tended at the Cloister of Saint Glinda by the silent novice called Candle, who wills him back to life with her musical gifts.

What dark force left Liir in this condition? Is he really Elphaba's son? He has her broom and her cape -- but what of her powers? Can he find his supposed half-sister, Nor, last seen in the forbidding prison, Southstairs? Can he fulfill the last wishes of a dying princess? In an Oz that, since the Wizard's departure, is under new and dangerous management, can Liir keep his head down long enough to grow up?

Comment: Son of a Witch opens ten years after the death of Elphaba Throbb, AKA the Wicked Witch of the West - the land of Oz is in turmoil, the Emerald City is in ruins and corruption is rife.  In alternate chapters Maguire tells the back story to Liir's life from the time of the witch's death when he was four, including his trek to the Emerald City with Dorothy et al; his search for his possible half-sister, Nor; and his time in the Munchkinland Army. 

Although some reviewers rave, such as Publishers Weekly, which gives it a starred review, a number seem to think that Son of a Witch is good, but not as memorable as Maguire's earlier book, Wicked (which inspired the long-running Broadway production of the same name).  For example, Katherine Powers, writing in The Washington Post thinks that "those for whom potty humor is the acme of wit and foul decay is horror sublime will be happy to know that Son of a Witch is as well-supplied with those articles as the earlier book was. What it has lost, however, is the shaping vigor gained by pushing against a well-known story"; and Kirkus Reviews thinks the book "works too hard to dazzle" and is "too long" but goes on to say that "few readers will fail to stay its magical course. Once again, the myth of Oz proves its enduring power."

This review was originally published in November 2005, and has been updated for the October 2006 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Sunburn
    Sunburn
    by Laura Lippman
    Crime writer Laura Lippman is both prolific and versatile. After spending years as a reporter for ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.