Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

BookBrowse Reviews Panic by Jeff Abbott

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Panic

by Jeff Abbott

Panic by Jeff Abbott X
Panic by Jeff Abbott
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Aug 2005, 304 pages

    Paperback:
    Aug 2006, 416 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


'Don't even try to anticipate the twists and turns.' Thriller

From the book jacket: What if everything in your life was a lie? Things are going well for 24 year-old Evan Casher: his career as a documentary filmmaker is booming and his relationship with his new girlfriend, Carrie, couldn't be better. After an urgent phone call from his mother, he makes an unexpected trip home to Austin. Then the unthinkable happens. He arrives to find his mother brutally murdered, and narrowly escapes an attempt on his own life. Spirited away from the scene by an enigmatic mercenary with an agenda of his own, Evan is confronted with a shocking fact: his entire life has been little more than a carefully constructed lie. Pursued by a powerful, ruthless organization of killers who will stop at nothing to keep old secrets buried, Evan's only hope for survival is to uncover the truth about his family...and his own past.

Comment: It's standard practice for better known authors to 'blurb' (provide reviews for) books written by less well known authors. Sometimes I take these with a pinch of salt, but in this case the authors who've reviewed Panic and the compliments they pay are worth repeating.... Michael Connelly describes it as 'a ride down the roaring rapids....a hell of a page turner'; Lee Child thinks it 'an instant classic'; Laura Lippman suggests you 'don't even try to anticipate the twists and turns in this intelligent thriller -- just hold on tight and remember to breathe'; Jan Burke warns you should 'be prepared to stay up all night', and Harlan Coben announces, 'there is no question: Jeff Abbott is the new name in suspense.'
I think of the term "page-turner" as a mildly derogatory term - to me it defines the sort of book where it's possible to keep turning the pages ever faster because there's really not a lot to think about, in fact it's best if reality is suspended at least in part while reading it. 

However, from time to time, especially after reading a number of "heavy-duty" books, I find a good 'page-turner' acts like a cranial drain cleaner - clearing away the sludge of concepts and characters left behind by previous books, refreshing the gray matter so I'm ready to start reading the next book with a clear mind! 

If you're in the market for such a book, look no further than Panic (but before you go out and buy the paperback for $7.99, check out the shelves for 'bargain pricing' on the hardcover - I see copies in the bargain section at Amazon for $5.99. His publisher was banking on this being Jeff Abbott's breakout book - his first to be published in hardcover - but based on the fact that hardcover copies remain unsold it would seem sales haven't gone quite as well as they'd hoped.

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in September 2005, and has been updated for the August 2006 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Panic, try these:

We have 5 read-alikes for Panic, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Jeff Abbott
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket
    Cecilia
    by K-Ming Chang
    In the first few pages of K-Ming Chang's bizarre yet engrossing novella Cecilia, Seven, the ...
  • Book Jacket: Women and Children First
    Women and Children First
    by Alina Grabowski
    After Lucy Anderson falls to her death at a high school party, no one in Nashquitten, her gloomy, ...
  • Book Jacket: Henry Henry
    Henry Henry
    by Allen Bratton
    Allen Bratton's Henry Henry chronicles a year in the life of Hal Lancaster. Readers already ...
  • Book Jacket: The Last Murder at the End of the World
    The Last Murder at the End of the World
    by Stuart Turton
    The island is the only safe place left on Earth. Since a deadly fog overtook the planet, the ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Look on the Bright Side
by Kristan Higgins
From the author of Pack Up the Moon comes a funny, romantic, and moving novel about life's unexpected rewards.
Book Jacket
The Pecan Children
by Quinn Connor
Two sisters deeply tied to their small Southern town fight to break free of the darkness swallowing the land whole.
Win This Book
Win Bright and Tender Dark

Bright and Tender Dark by Joanna Pearson

A beautifully written, wire-taut debut novel about a murder on a college campus and its aftermath twenty years later.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A W in S C

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.