Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

BookBrowse Reviews The Game of Silence by Louise Erdrich

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Game of Silence

by Louise Erdrich

The Game of Silence by Louise Erdrich X
The Game of Silence by Louise Erdrich
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Apr 2005, 256 pages

    Paperback:
    Jun 2006, 272 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


The captivating sequel to The Birchbark House. Children ages 9+

This is a wonderful book that our whole family enjoyed when we read it aloud together. Erdrich writes from the heart about the life of her 19th century Ojibwa ancestors. The story is told through the eyes of 10-year-old Omakayas, who is easy to relate to because, although her lifestyle is very different to the way most of us live today, she is in so many ways a typical child of any age - enjoying snowball fights and fishing excursions, devoted to her pet and reluctant to do her chores, eager to be taken seriously but a little scared of the responsibilities that come with growing up.

This is the second in a series that Erdrich plans to write tracing her family's history. The first book, The Birchbark House describes a year in the life of Omakayas' family when she is seven, this second book tells of another year when she is 10. It isn't necessary to have read the first book to enjoy the second. 

I'm not aware of a date yet for the next in the series, but it may not be imminent - as there were about 4 years between the first and second books, and Erdrich is, of course, also busy with her books for adults, such as The Master Butcher's Singing Club, not to mention finding time to raise her children and help run the Birchbark bookstore in Minnesota!

Incidentally, the excerpt you can browse by clicking the link below is, like many others, exclusive to BookBrowse.

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in August 2005, and has been updated for the June 2006 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked The Game of Silence, try these:

We have 4 read-alikes for The Game of Silence, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Louise Erdrich
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Sicilian Inheritance
    The Sicilian Inheritance
    by Jo Piazza
    Sara Marsala is going through a rough patch, to say the least. In the process of divorcing from her ...
  • Book Jacket: The Light Eaters
    The Light Eaters
    by Zoë Schlanger
    The human race is completely dependent on plants. Many people, however, give little thought to ...
  • Book Jacket: Joy Is the Justice We Give Ourselves
    Joy Is the Justice We Give Ourselves
    by J Drew Lanham
    As a recipient of the MacArthur "Genius" Grant, and a Professor of Wildlife Ecology and Master ...
  • Book Jacket: Glorious Exploits
    Glorious Exploits
    by Ferdia Lennon
    Lampo and Gelon are two unemployed potters in their thirties whose lives are spent between their ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
The Familiar
by Leigh Bardugo
From the #1 New York Times bestselling author Leigh Bardugo comes a spellbinding novel set in the Spanish Golden Age.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Stolen Child
    by Ann Hood

    An unlikely duo ventures through France and Italy to solve the mystery of a child’s fate.

  • Book Jacket

    Daughters of Shandong
    by Eve J. Chung

    Eve J. Chung's debut novel recounts a family's flight to Taiwan during China's Communist revolution.

Win This Book
Win Only the Brave

Only the Brave by Danielle Steel

A powerful, sweeping historical novel about a courageous woman in World War II Germany.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

F T a T

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.