BookBrowse Reviews The Game of Silence by Louise Erdrich

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Game of Silence

by Louise Erdrich

The Game of Silence by Louise Erdrich
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Apr 2005, 256 pages
    Paperback:
    Jun 2006, 272 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


The captivating sequel to The Birchbark House. Children ages 9+

This is a wonderful book that our whole family enjoyed when we read it aloud together. Erdrich writes from the heart about the life of her 19th century Ojibwa ancestors. The story is told through the eyes of 10-year-old Omakayas, who is easy to relate to because, although her lifestyle is very different to the way most of us live today, she is in so many ways a typical child of any age - enjoying snowball fights and fishing excursions, devoted to her pet and reluctant to do her chores, eager to be taken seriously but a little scared of the responsibilities that come with growing up.

This is the second in a series that Erdrich plans to write tracing her family's history. The first book, The Birchbark House describes a year in the life of Omakayas' family when she is seven, this second book tells of another year when she is 10. It isn't necessary to have read the first book to enjoy the second. 

I'm not aware of a date yet for the next in the series, but it may not be imminent - as there were about 4 years between the first and second books, and Erdrich is, of course, also busy with her books for adults, such as The Master Butcher's Singing Club, not to mention finding time to raise her children and help run the Birchbark bookstore in Minnesota!

Incidentally, the excerpt you can browse by clicking the link below is, like many others, exclusive to BookBrowse.

This review was originally published in August 2005, and has been updated for the June 2006 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.



This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    Smoke
    by Dan Vyleta
    In Dan Vyleta's universe, set in an alternate Victorian England, people engaging in sinful thought ...
  • Book Jacket: Golden Hill
    Golden Hill
    by Francis Spufford
    Spufford brings American history to raucous life through the story of Mr. Richard Smith, a ...
  • Book Jacket: Midnight at the Electric
    Midnight at the Electric
    by Jodi Lynn Anderson
    The world changes, but humanity stays the same. Whether a book takes place in the year 1510 or 2010,...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
June by Miranda Beverly-Whittemore

A novel of suspense and passion about a terrible mistake that changed a family forever.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.