Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

BookBrowse Reviews Eldest by Christopher Paolini

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Eldest

Inheritance, Book II

by Christopher Paolini

Eldest by Christopher Paolini X
Eldest by Christopher Paolini
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Aug 2005, 704 pages

    Paperback:
    Mar 2007, 704 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


The shelf-bending sequel to Eragon. Ages 12+

From the book jacket: Darkness falls…despair abounds…evil reigns…Eragon and his dragon, Saphira, have just saved the rebel state from destruction by the mighty forces of King Galbatorix, cruel ruler of the Empire. Now Eragon must travel to Ellesmera, land of the elves, for further training in the skills of the Dragon Rider.

Comment: As you probably know, home-schooled Paolini wrote the first volume in his planned trilogy when he was 15, having graduated from high-school via correspondence course. When it was finished the family had the book printed and Paolini toured over 135 schools and libraries to promote it, dressed in a medieval costume of red shirt, billowy black pants, lace-up boots and a jaunty black cap!  His big break came when he spoke at the school attended by Carl Hiaasen's step-son.  Hiaasen read Eragon, recommended it to Knopf (part of Random House) and they published it in 2003.  If you happen to have a copy of Eragon published by Lightning Source, complete with hand drawn maps and cover art by Paolini, treat it well as it's currently worth about $1,000!  Eldest followed in 2005 and is just now out in paperback.

A quick look at the almost 300 reader reviews at BookBrowse for Eragon and Eldest will show you that readers tend to either love or hate the books. Many in the latter court point to similarities between Paolini's characters and those found in other books, in particular Lord of the Rings and Anne McCaffrey's Dragon Rider series. They also make much of the fact that Eragon was first published by his parent's, who owned a small publishing company.

That some of his characters share more than a passing resemblance to those from other books is indisputable, but the same could be said for a multitude of heroic/quest fantasy books with their casts of dwarves, elves, dragons, et al. As for the claims that he only got published because his parents published him - frankly, this is a red-herring as these days with print-on-demand publishing anybody can get anything published - but the point is will anybody buy the finished product!

Speaking personally, I find the books very hard work.  I've tried to read them but simply can't make it through.  Paolini appears to be firmly of the belief that one should never use one adjective when five will do.  The reviewer for The Boston Globe sums up his writing style with the immortal words: "He is to English as a dog to a chainsaw: he worries it, and worries it, and devastation spreads around him."

Having said that, nothing that I or other reviewers say can take away from the fact that a multitude of children absolutely adore these books.  Our then 11-year-old son positively fell on the advanced readers copy of Eldest when it arrived, and scuttled off to his room, emerging two days later with the verdict that it was even better than Eragon - and this is a child who has read his way through a great many books including most of the fantasy books that Paolini's writing is regularly compared to.

Added to which, I owe a debt of gratitude to Paolini for writing the book that tipped our 11-year-old daughter into reading her first really "big" book.  She started Eragon at the suggestion of her brother and is now as besotted as he is, and is currently reading and greatly enjoying Eldest.

The publication date for the third volume has yet to be announced, but when it is published it will be interesting to see what the now 23-year-old Paolini comes up with to complete the cycle that he began when he was 15-years-old!

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in September 2005, and has been updated for the March 2007 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Eldest, try these:

  • Foundling jacket

    Foundling

    by D M. Cornish

    Published 2007

    About this book

    More by this author

    Set in the world of the Half-Continent—a land of tri-corner hats and flintlock pistols—the Monster Blood Tattoo trilogy is a world of predatory monsters, chemical potions and surgically altered people. For ages 12+

  • The Looking Glass Wars jacket

    The Looking Glass Wars

    by Frank Beddor

    Published 2007

    About this book

    More by this author

    An intruiging re-imagining of Alice in Wonderland, in which Wonderland exists, and Alyss is a princess escaping a bloody coup to hide in Victorian London. Lost and alone, she tells an aspiring author the surreal story; but he believes it to be mere fantasy. Now, years later, she is found by a loyal bodyguard, and together they fight to regain her...

We have 4 read-alikes for Eldest, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Christopher Paolini
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Light Eaters
    The Light Eaters
    by Zoë Schlanger
    The human race is completely dependent on plants. Many people, however, give little thought to ...
  • Book Jacket: Joy Is the Justice We Give Ourselves
    Joy Is the Justice We Give Ourselves
    by J Drew Lanham
    As a recipient of the MacArthur "Genius" Grant, and a Professor of Wildlife Ecology and Master ...
  • Book Jacket: Glorious Exploits
    Glorious Exploits
    by Ferdia Lennon
    Lampo and Gelon are two unemployed potters in their thirties whose lives are spent between their ...
  • Book Jacket: Song of the Six Realms
    Song of the Six Realms
    by Judy I. Lin
    Xue'er has no place in the kingdom of Qi or any of the Six Realms. Her name means "Solitary Snow" ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Long After We Are Gone
by Terah Shelton Harris
After their father's death, four siblings rally to save their family home in this gripping and hopeful tale.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Daughters of Shandong
    by Eve J. Chung

    Eve J. Chung's debut novel recounts a family's flight to Taiwan during China's Communist revolution.

  • Book Jacket

    The Stolen Child
    by Ann Hood

    An unlikely duo ventures through France and Italy to solve the mystery of a child’s fate.

Win This Book
Win Only the Brave

Only the Brave by Danielle Steel

A powerful, sweeping historical novel about a courageous woman in World War II Germany.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

F T a T

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.