Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

BookBrowse Reviews SHAM by Steve Salerno

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

SHAM

How the Self-Help Movement Made America Helpless

by Steve Salerno

SHAM by Steve Salerno X
SHAM by Steve Salerno
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jun 2005, 288 pages

    Paperback:
    Sep 2006, 288 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


How the Self-Help Movement Made America Helpless. Non Fiction

From the book jacket: Self-help: To millions of Americans it seems like a godsend. To many others it seems like a joke. But as investigative reporter Steve Salerno reveals in this groundbreaking book, it's neither—in fact it's much worse than a joke. Going deep inside the Self-Help and Actualization Movement (fittingly, the words form the acronym SHAM), Salerno offers the first serious exposé of this multibillion-dollar industry and the real damage it is doing—not just to its paying customers, but to all of American society.

Comment: SHAM has been rustling a lot of feathers, as you'd expect of a book that attacks the self-help industry! Salerno's stance is unequivocal, and at times vitriolic. Personally, I'm all for balanced debate and looking at different viewpoints, because there are very few black and white issues in this world - everything comes down to shades of grey - and that includes the self-help industry. So, I did think twice before recommending a book that effectively writes off the entire self-help arena as a SHAM.  Having said that, the belief that all our problems can be solved if we just find the right 12-step program, or the right diet, or the right self-actualization image isn't healthy either, and if Salerno is to have any hope of being heard above the din of advice he needs to be a little obstreperous - especially when one takes into account that many of the publicity avenues available to the self-help 'gurus' (such as magazines and talk-shows) are unlikely to want to give space to his views! 

Whatever you think of self-help products, I encourage you to take a few minutes out of your day to read an excerpt from this controversial book!

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in July 2005, and has been updated for the October 2006 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked SHAM, try these:

  • Bad Blood jacket

    Bad Blood

    by John Carreyrou

    Published 2020

    About this book

    The full inside story of the breathtaking rise and shocking collapse of Theranos, the multibillion-dollar biotech startup, by the prize-winning journalist who first broke the story and pursued it to the end, despite pressure from its charismatic CEO and threats by her lawyers.

  • Love Is a Canoe jacket

    Love Is a Canoe

    by Ben Schrank

    Published 2014

    About this book

    More by this author

    In Love Is a Canoe, Ben Schrank delivers a smart, funny, romantic, and hugely satisfying novel about the fragility of marriage and the difficulty of repairing the damage when well-intentioned people forget how to be good to each other.

We have 7 read-alikes for SHAM, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Last Murder at the End of the World
    The Last Murder at the End of the World
    by Stuart Turton
    The island is the only safe place left on Earth. Since a deadly fog overtook the planet, the ...
  • Book Jacket
    A Kind of Madness
    by Uche Okonkwo
    The word "madness," like many others that can be used to stigmatize mental illness — e.g., "...
  • Book Jacket: Long After We Are Gone
    Long After We Are Gone
    by Terah Shelton Harris
    Terah Shelton Harris's marvelous family drama Long After We Are Gone begins with the death of the ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhibit
    Exhibit
    by R O. Kwon
    Exhibit, R.O. Kwon's sophomore novel (after The Incendiaries, 2018), introduces readers to Jin Han, ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
The Pecan Children
by Quinn Connor
Two sisters deeply tied to their small Southern town fight to break free of the darkness swallowing the land whole.
Book Jacket
Look on the Bright Side
by Kristan Higgins
From the author of Pack Up the Moon comes a funny, romantic, and moving novel about life's unexpected rewards.
Win This Book
Win Bright and Tender Dark

Bright and Tender Dark by Joanna Pearson

A beautifully written, wire-taut debut novel about a murder on a college campus and its aftermath twenty years later.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A W in S C

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.