BookBrowse Reviews Radical Evolution by Joel Garreau

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Radical Evolution

The Promise and Peril of Enhancing Our Minds, Our Bodies -- and What It Means to Be Human

by Joel Garreau

Radical Evolution by Joel Garreau X
Radical Evolution by Joel Garreau
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    May 2005, 400 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2006, 400 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


The Future: only by anticipating it can hope to shape it. Current Affairs

From the book jacket: Through advances in genetic, robotic, information and nano-technologies, we are altering our minds, our memories, our metabolisms, our personalities, our progeny - and perhaps our very souls.

Taking us behind the scenes with today's foremost researchers and pioneers, Garreau reveals that the super powers of our comic-book heroes already exist, or are in development in hospitals, labs, and research facilities around the country -- from the revved up reflexes and speed of Spider-Man and Superman, to the enhanced mental acuity and memory capabilities of an advanced species.

Over the next fifteen years, Garreau makes clear, these enhancements will become part of our everyday lives. Where will they lead us? To heaven - where technology's promise to make us smarter, vanquish illness and extend our lives is the answer to our prayers? Or will they lead us, as some argue, to hell - where unrestrained technology brings about the ultimate destruction of our entire species? As Garreau cautions, it is only by anticipating the future that we can hope to shape it.

Comment: The rate of scientific advancements has led to a veritable glut of books discussing said scientific advances - what's already possible, what might be possible, and is it a good idea to push the boundaries of science so far in the first place?  Other recently published books that cover the same broad subject area include The Singularity is Near: When Humans Transcend Biology by Ray Kurzweil and More Than Human - both published within a couple of months of Radical Evolution.

Radical Evolution differs from More Than Human in that while the latter did not hide from the negatives, the author's opinion was very much along the vein of damn the torpedoes, full steam ahead!, whereas Radical Evolution takes a harder look at the downsides.

Whatever your views on scientific advancements, there is one factor that is indisputable - they are advancing at an extraordinary rate - Radical Evolution offers four scenarios as to how things could pan out:
In the "Heaven" scenario genetic engineering leads to happier, healthier humans. The "Hell" scenario shows science out of control - with over-engineering leading to new deformities, not just in humans but also in the food chain. The third scenario is "Prevail" which one reviewer refers to aptly as 'muddling through' - we'll make mistakes but the good will outweigh the bad and overall we'll come out better in the end. The last is titled "Transcend", which hypothesizes that we might not just avoid thee pitfalls but actually jump over them to a new existence beyond anything we can imagine!

If we are to avoid "Hell" and have any chance of "Transcending" we, the public, need to understand the implications of the scientific advancements, and Radical Evolution is a pretty good place to start!

"The technoscenarios Garreau explicates are riveting, and of acute importance, as is his reminder that there is much more to life than technology, no matter how amazing it gets." - Booklist.

This review was originally published in June 2005, and has been updated for the May 2006 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Miracle Creek
    Miracle Creek
    by Angie Kim
    Miracle Creek, the debut novel from Angie Kim, hinges on the mysterious explosion of an oxygen tank....
  • Book Jacket: Courting Mr. Lincoln
    Courting Mr. Lincoln
    by Louis Bayard
    19 out of 21 of our First Impression Reviewers rated Louis Bayard's latest novel, Courting Mr. ...
  • Book Jacket
    Transcription
    by Kate Atkinson
    Over her two-decade-plus career, Kate Atkinson has reinvented herself as a writer several times by ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhalation
    Exhalation
    by Ted Chiang
    Exhalation is an assemblage of nine short stories and novellas written by Ted Chiang, a computer ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake

    "An American epic in the truest sense…"
    Entertainment Weekly
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Women Rowing North
    by Mary Pipher

    The instant New York Times bestseller from the author of Reviving Ophelia.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Her Kind of Case
by Jeanne Winer

A highly-recommended emotion-filled legal drama with three starred reviews!

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Miracle Creek

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I T S Form O F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.