BookBrowse Reviews Lost In The Forest by Sue Miller

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Lost In The Forest

by Sue Miller

Lost In The Forest by Sue Miller X
Lost In The Forest by Sue Miller
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Apr 2005, 256 pages
    Paperback:
    Jul 2006, 272 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Engrossing characters and a plot that turns unexpected corners. Novel

Sue Miller turns her magnifying glass on the family of Eva and Mark. Their marriage hit a road bump some years back when Mark had an affair, and their three teenage children now live with Eva and her second husband, John - that is until he dies in a freak accident and Mark comes back into Eva's life to help with the children while she grieves.  While John is waking up to the fact that he still loves Eva, Eva is confounded by her own grief, and the three children deal with events in their own way, with much of the focus being on 15-year-old Daisy as she deals with her loss via various secret acts of defiance, culminating in an affair with an older man. 

The question is, how will the characters find their way through this loss and can Daisy find her way back to her path and out of the arms of the predatory wolf (á la Little Red Riding Hood) or will she be permanently lost in the forest?  I know this sounds like pretty standard stuff but as I've said before (and will likely say again!) it's not what you tell, it's the way you tell it.  In Miller's hands other people's lives are surprisingly interesting!

Selected Reviews
"..... this fine novel ....  is in fact gently comic. For, as we know, comedy in literature stresses the community, and its ongoing life, while tragedy stresses the individual, who is doomed. Lost in the Forest is a comedy in the exact and best literary sense, for it stresses beautifully the continuation of the social unit with which it is concerned." - Washington Post.

"....while some of her plots (that of While I Was Gone, for example) can be cluttered and occasionally clumsy, Lost in the Forest has a seemingly effortless grace; Miller quickly captures and never loses our attention." - The New York Times Sunday Review.

This review is from the August 2, 2006 issue of BookBrowse Recommends. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.