BookBrowse Reviews A Window in Copacabana by Luiz Alfredo Garcia-Roza

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

A Window in Copacabana

Inspector Espinosa Series

by Luiz Alfredo Garcia-Roza

A Window in Copacabana by Luiz Alfredo Garcia-Roza
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Jan 2005, 243 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 2006, 272 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


'Tropical noir at its best'. Mystery

From the book jacket: Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro. Three policemen have been killed over the course of a few days. Immediately the police world is thrown into turmoil. Who would risk running around the city killing cops, even unpopular ones?  Espinosa, chief of the 12th Precinct, doesn't have much to go on..... and nothing is quite as it first appears as he finds himself in his old haunts of Leme and Copacabana, and in the all-too-familiar murky terrain of corruption, secret lives, greed, and fear. 

Comment: This is the fourth book in the Inspector Espinosa series set in the sultry streets of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.  In the author's own words, 'Espinosa is an ordinary man. He is not a hero, he is not always fighting against dangerous criminals, he doesn't get all the beautiful blondes and brunettes that come cross his path. He is a public employee, a middle-aged person, a solitary man. He could be our neighbor. But at the same time, he has a critical mind and a romantic heart, he feels eccentric among his professional peers and out of place in the world. He is not so ordinary, in fact.'

If you like your mysteries to be all blood and guts and tidy endings, move on, but if you're interested in a writer of thoughtful noir crime fiction who includes Dashiell Hammett and Raymond Chandler in his list of favorite authors, and cites Dostoyevsky's Crime and Punishment as his favorite novel, stop right here!

"Garcia-Roza exploits the Brazilian city's seemliness and steaminess to perfection in tough but sensuous language." -- Booklist (starred review).

"
Garcia-Roza, who writes like nobody else in the world, has produced altogether the most ebullient and delightful tale of serial homicide you'll read this year."-- Kirkus.

This review was originally published in March 2005, and has been updated for the January 2006 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.



This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    Smoke
    by Dan Vyleta
    In Dan Vyleta's universe, set in an alternate Victorian England, people engaging in sinful thought ...
  • Book Jacket: Golden Hill
    Golden Hill
    by Francis Spufford
    Spufford brings American history to raucous life through the story of Mr. Richard Smith, a ...
  • Book Jacket: Midnight at the Electric
    Midnight at the Electric
    by Jodi Lynn Anderson
    The world changes, but humanity stays the same. Whether a book takes place in the year 1510 or 2010,...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The One-in-a-Million Boy by Monica Wood

A richly layered novel of hearts broken seemingly beyond repair and then bound by a stunning act of human devotion.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.