Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

BookBrowse Reviews Metropolis by Elizabeth Gaffney

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Metropolis

A Novel

by Elizabeth Gaffney

Metropolis by Elizabeth Gaffney X
Metropolis by Elizabeth Gaffney
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Mar 2005, 480 pages

    Paperback:
    Feb 2006, 480 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Gaffney's tale of old New York is pure bliss - 1st Novel/Historical Fiction

From the book jacket: Elizabeth Gaffney’s Dickensian Metropolis captures the splendor and violence of New York in the years after the Civil War, as young immigrants climb out of urban chaos and into the American dream. On a freezing night in the middle of winter, Gaffney’s nameless hero is suddenly awakened by a fire in P. T. Barnum’s stable, where he works and sleeps, and soon finds himself at the center of a citywide arson investigation.

Determined to clear his name and realize the dreams that inspired his hazardous voyage across the Atlantic, he will change his identity many times, find himself mixed up with one of the city’s toughest and most enterprising gangs, and fall in love with a smart, headstrong, and beautiful young woman.

Comment: Metropolis is set in the notorious 'Five Points' area of Lower Manhattan in the mid 19th century, a time when the area teemed with alcoholism, violence and prostitution, and was also home to a rotating population of destitute European immigrants and freed slaves from the South. By the mid 19th century, the neighborhood's Irish population was second in size only to Dublin's and the streets were ruled by Irish gangs. This is the same setting as portrayed in Martin Scorsese's 2002 movie Gangs of New York or (broadly speaking) E.L. Doctorow's novel, Billy Bathgate (1989).

In case you wonder, Gaffney tells me that the hero of her story, Frank Harris, is not intended to be a fictionalized version of the Irish author and editor, Frank Harris (1851-1931), author of 'My Life & Loves'. She chose the name simply because she liked it and it was a common name of the time.

"The pace and density of Metropolis are rewarding yet stubbornly unpredictable. The book's vivid tableaus and high drama are offset by close study of how urban planning, construction projects and contagious illnesses actually work. All this moves circuitously but firmly toward a finale that validates all the sprawl and unexpectedness of what has come before." -- Janet Maslin, The New York Times.

"Gaffney's tale of old New York is pure bliss." - Booklist (starred review).

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in March 2005, and has been updated for the February 2006 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Metropolis, try these:

  • Winter Sisters jacket

    Winter Sisters

    by Robin Oliveira

    Published 2019

    About this book

    More by this author

    From the New York Times bestselling author of My Name Is Mary Sutter comes a rich and compelling historical novel about the disappearance of two young girls after a cataclysmic blizzard, and what happens when their fate is discovered.

  • The Remarkable Courtship of General Tom Thumb jacket

    The Remarkable Courtship of General Tom Thumb

    by Nicholas Rinaldi

    Published 2015

    About this book

    An irresistible novel set against the backdrop of the American Civil War and based on the real life of Tom Thumb, a young man only twenty-five inches tall.

We have 9 read-alikes for Metropolis, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Elizabeth Gaffney
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Long After We Are Gone
    Long After We Are Gone
    by Terah Shelton Harris
    Terah Shelton Harris's marvelous family drama Long After We Are Gone begins with the death of the ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhibit
    Exhibit
    by R O. Kwon
    Exhibit, R.O. Kwon's sophomore novel (after The Incendiaries, 2018), introduces readers to Jin Han, ...
  • Book Jacket: Somehow
    Somehow
    by Anne Lamott
    Anne Lamott knows a thing or two about love. In fact, there is so much of it exuding from her essay ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Wings Upon Her Back
    by Samantha Mills
    Faith is a delicate thing. At its best, it can offer peace in times of crisis. At its worst, it can ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Long After We Are Gone
by Terah Shelton Harris
After their father's death, four siblings rally to save their family home in this gripping and hopeful tale.
Book Jacket
The Pecan Children
by Quinn Connor
Two sisters deeply tied to their small Southern town fight to break free of the darkness swallowing the land whole.
Win This Book
Win Bright and Tender Dark

Bright and Tender Dark by Joanna Pearson

A beautifully written, wire-taut debut novel about a murder on a college campus and its aftermath twenty years later.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A W in S C

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.