BookBrowse Reviews The Last Kingdom by Bernard Cornwell

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Last Kingdom

by Bernard Cornwell

The Last Kingdom by Bernard Cornwell X
The Last Kingdom by Bernard Cornwell
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Feb 2005, 333 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 2006, 368 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A ripping good yarn set in the time of Alfred The Great. Historical Fiction

From the book jacket: The first volume in a new saga set in the 9th century. The Norse have gone 'a-viking' and are rapidly overwhelming the land later to be known as England.  Three out of the four kingdoms are already in their control, only Wessex, under the leadership of Alfred, remains undefeated.  

Comment: In the words of Katherine Powers writing for the Washington Post, "The Last Kingdom caters to those of us whose appetite for rehashed legends was satisfied long ago. In addition to providing thrilling combat action and satisfying details of material life, military accoutrement and battle tactics, Cornwell's best historical fiction pleases us mightily in the way his renditions of the great actors and events of yore stray from received versions. Such contrariness is partly the product of meticulous research and partly of a mischievous sense of humor. Happily, both inform The Last Kingdom throughout."

In a 2005 interview in Publishers Weekly, Cornwell explained that his decision to write a series set in the 9th century was partially spurred by personal events.  Cornwell was a 'war baby' - the result of a liaison between a Canadian airman and an English woman - he was adopted and suffered a particularly unhappy childhood.  Although he'd always had access to information about his parents he had never chosen to look them up until recently when, on tour in Vancouver, he decided to see if his father was alive, and found that he was. They met for the first time when his father was 84 years old. Cornwell found that his family name was Oughtred, which traced back to Bebbanburg Castle in Northumbria, now known as Bamburgh Castle.  This triggered him to create a Northumbrian hero, Uhtred, who was forcibly adopted by the Danes, grew up among them, learned their ways and eventually helped Alfred defeat them!

The next book in the series, The Pale Horseman,  was published in the UK in October 2005 and in the USA early this month.  Booklist describe it as a 'crackerjack adventure tale from a master of the craft.'

This review was originally published in March 2005, and has been updated for the January 2006 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.