BookBrowse Reviews Revolution No. 9 by Neil McMahon

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Revolution No. 9

by Neil McMahon

Revolution No. 9 by Neil McMahon X
Revolution No. 9 by Neil McMahon
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jan 2005, 304 pages
    Paperback:
    Dec 2005, 352 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A duel both fascinating and frighteningly real. Medical thriller

Comment: This is Neil McMahon's fourth thriller starring ER physician Dr Carroll Monks (see sidebar for series order).  Poor old Monks is just putting his feet up for the evening when a woman comes knocking at the door saying her car's got a flat.  Being a true gent he doesn't lend her his phone to call the breakdown truck, instead he sets off to fix the flat himself, and is promptly abducted by his own long estranged son, Glenn.  He's taken to a remote community led by a charismatic counter-cultural sociopath known as Freeboot who's obsessed with the supposed hidden messages buried within old Beatles lyrics and the disintegration of workers' rights, the escalating differential between the haves and the have-nots, and the slap-on-the-wrist "justice" doled out in cases of billion-dollar corporate malfeasance.

Monks soon discovers that he has been abducted because Freeboot's four-year-old son is critically ill -- a conundrum for Freeboot, whose distrust of institutional America (hospitals included) borders on the psychotic. Monks can see immediately that the boy's condition is acute and that only immediate hospitalization will save him.  When his pleas fall on deaf ears he has no choice but to make a daring escape with the boy.  This brings down the wrath of the madman on himself and his family, and culminates in a diabolically crafted "revolution" -- a recreation of Hitchcock's The Birds, but with human predators, unleashed on the town of Bodega Bay, California.

Publishers Weekly (giving it a starred review) says 'McMahon pulls off the virtually impossible: he creates a lunatic terrorist adversary so believable that he quickly becomes touchingly real.  Booklist says 'the quick-witted Monks is one of mystery fiction's more original series leads, and this new novel shows that he is a long way away from outstaying his welcome. Bring on the next one!'

This review is from the January 4, 2006 issue of BookBrowse Recommends. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...
  • Book Jacket: Mothers of Sparta
    Mothers of Sparta
    by Dawn Davies
    What it's about:
    The tagline on the back cover of Mothers of Sparta says it all: "Some women...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.