BookBrowse Reviews Collapse by Jared Diamond

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Collapse

How Societies Choose to Fail or Succeed

by Jared Diamond

Collapse by Jared Diamond
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Dec 2004, 575 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 2006, 592 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Diamond casts his critical but acute and inclusive gaze on the issue of why civilizations fail to see collapse coming. Current Affairs

Comment: In his earlier book, Guns Germs and Steel, Jared Diamond convincingly argued that geographical and environmental factors shaped the modern world. Societies that had a head start in food production advanced beyond the hunter-gatherer stage, and then developed writing, technology, government, and organized religion—as well as nasty germs and potent weapons of war—which allowed them to venture far afield to conquer and decimate preliterate cultures. 

In Collapse Diamond takes a look at the darker side of the coin - the societies that didn't make it, barely made it, or are destined, as Diamond sees it, for failure.  Much of the book focuses on a few of today's environmental hotspots - and the findings are pretty depressing - despite having all the technological advances and knowledge of our modern culture, it seems we're really not doing any better at keeping our environment healthy than the extinct people of Easter Island.  

Having said that, it's not entirely doom and gloom, Diamond does let a few rays of sunshine through when he draws attention to a few examples of sustainability, such as Japan's strict forest protection programs (having said that, he goes on to say that while they're doing a great job protecting their own backyard, their appetite for wood hasn't changed - which is leading to forest decimation in vulnerable places such as Papua New Guinea)   His bottom line is clear - for all our technology and electronic widgets, we are still bound to nature and reliant on it.

Booklist describes Collapse as 'a thought-provoking book containing not a single page of dense prose, whereas Scientific American says 'it is not a page-turner'....but definitely recommends reading the book as it 'will challenge and make you think - long after you have turned that last 500th-plus page'.  As always, you can decide for yourself by reading a substantial excerpt at BookBrowse; and if you do I feel fairly confident that you'll come away with an understanding of the book's overall premise sufficient to hold your own in conversation on the subject with virtually anyone!

This review is from the January 4, 2006 issue of BookBrowse Recommends. Click here to go to this issue.



This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    Smoke
    by Dan Vyleta
    In Dan Vyleta's universe, set in an alternate Victorian England, people engaging in sinful thought ...
  • Book Jacket: Golden Hill
    Golden Hill
    by Francis Spufford
    Spufford brings American history to raucous life through the story of Mr. Richard Smith, a ...
  • Book Jacket: Midnight at the Electric
    Midnight at the Electric
    by Jodi Lynn Anderson
    The world changes, but humanity stays the same. Whether a book takes place in the year 1510 or 2010,...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Atomic Weight of Love by Elizabeth J. Church

In the spirit of The Aviator's Wife, this resonant debut spans from World War II through the Vietnam War.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.