We are proud to announce that BookBrowse has won Platinum in the 2024 Modern Library Awards.

BookBrowse Reviews Indigo's Star by Hilary McKay

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Indigo's Star

by Hilary McKay

Indigo's Star by Hilary McKay X
Indigo's Star by Hilary McKay
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 2004, 272 pages

    Paperback:
    Jan 2006, 272 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A laugh-out-loud narrative that's as chaotic and lovable as the Casson household itself. Ages 9+

Comment: Indigo's Star is a follow up to Saffy's Angel, but I don't see any critical reason to read the one before the other. Saffy' Angel introduced what Publisher's Weekly describe as this 'spirited English family' headed up by scatterbrained Eve - who paints pictures of anything that will pay and Bill, her increasingly absentee husband - a 'real' artist who lives in his studio in London.

The four Casson children are all named after colors on the paint chart, 19-year old Caddy (Cadmium), Saffy (Saffron), Indigo (the only boy, 12 years old) and 8-year-old Rose. As the titles suggest, the first book focused on Saffy but this time Indigo and Rose take center stage. Indigo is being bullied at school and Rose is determined to help him; she's also determined to persuade her father to come home.

As School Library Journal says, 'while the story may be somewhat short on plot and a bit facile in its treatment of the issue of bullying, McKay's sly humor, deft characterization, and brisk pacing more than compensate. Readers will love revisiting the chaotic but loving Casson household.'

Booklist comments that 'some references, particularly those that foreshadow the Casson parents' marital strains, may fly over the heads of young readers. But the author unerringly dissects the politics of bullying and a family's complicated layers of love and anger in an often laugh-out-loud narrative that's as chaotic and lovable as the Casson household itself.'

This review first ran in the February 3, 2006 issue of BookBrowse Recommends.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Indigo's Star, try these:

  • See You at Harry's jacket

    See You at Harry's

    by Jo Knowles

    Published 2013

    About this book

    More by this author

    Starting middle school brings all the usual challenges - until the unthinkable happens, and Fern and her family must find a way to heal.

  • Long Story Short jacket

    Long Story Short

    by Siobhan Parkinson

    Published 2011

    About this book

    From Ireland's first laureate for children's literature comes a story of abuse and neglect told with sincerity, heart, and a healthy dose of humor.

We have 7 read-alikes for Indigo's Star, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Hilary McKay
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Curse of Pietro Houdini
    The Curse of Pietro Houdini
    by Derek B. Miller
    Derek B. Miller's sixth novel, The Curse of Pietro Houdini, opens in the town of Cassino, Italy, in ...
  • Book Jacket: Our Moon
    Our Moon
    by Rebecca Boyle
    In Our Moon: How Earth's Celestial Companion Transformed the Planet, Guided Evolution, and Made Us ...
  • Book Jacket: Neighbors and Other Stories
    Neighbors and Other Stories
    by Diane Oliver
    The history of American segregation, along with changes to it in the 1960s, is sometimes taught and ...
  • Book Jacket: Wild and Distant Seas
    Wild and Distant Seas
    by Tara Karr Roberts
    Tara Karr Roberts is a newspaper columnist who also teaches English and journalism. Wild and Distant...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Mockingbird Summer
by Lynda Rutledge
A powerful and emotional coming-of-age novel set in the 1960s by the bestselling author of West with Giraffes.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Strong Passions
    by Barbara Weisberg

    Shocking revelations of a wife's adultery in 19th New York explode in an incendiary trial exposing the upper-crust and its secrets.

  • Book Jacket

    Leaving
    by Roxana Robinson

    An engrossing exploration of the vows we make to one another and what we owe to others and ourselves.

Win This Book
Win The Cleaner

The Cleaner
by Brandi Wells

Rarely has cubicle culture been depicted in such griminess or with such glee."
PW (starred review)

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I Wouldn't T H W A T-F P

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.