BookBrowse Reviews Skeleton Man by Tony Hillerman

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Skeleton Man

by Tony Hillerman

Skeleton Man by Tony Hillerman X
Skeleton Man by Tony Hillerman
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Nov 2004, 241 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 2006, 368 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


'The stakes are high and the danger escalates clear through to the final pages.' Mystery

Comment: If you're looking for a thrilling, page turning, heart pounding adventure - move on; but if you're in the market for a thoughtful mystery set in a stunning location look no further.  I think I would have enjoyed Skeleton Man wherever and however I'd read it, but it's quite possible that I particularly enjoyed it because I listened to most of it on a long solo car journey with absolutely no distractions, so I could take in every mellow, gravelly word read by George Guidall.   

This series began way back in 1970 with The Blessing Way, starring Joe Leaphorn.  In 1980 Hillerman introduced Jim Chee in People of Darkness; and in 1986 he brought his two characters together in Skinwalkers.  Thirty-four years after the first book, Leaphorn is in retirement but he still has an investigative roll to play.  However, the main action is with Jim Chee and his fiancée Bernie Manuelito (and I suspect we'll be seeing more of this duo in the future) who are on the path to solve the Skeleton Man mystery (according to Hopi legend, the Skeleton Man is the guardian spirit of the underworld).

A simple-minded young man has been imprisoned for a crime but fortunately for him he's a cousin of an old colleague of Jim Chee, and Chee sets out to prove him innocent.  However, this won't be easy as the only way to corroborate his story of innocence is to find the remains of one of the 172 people killed in an airplane accident over the Grand Canyon 50 years earlier - the 'remains' in question being an arm attached to an attaché case full of diamonds. Meanwhile the plot quickly thickens with the arrival of the illegitimate daughter of the dead diamond dealer determined to find the bones, and a nasty bit of work determined to stop her.  

Publishers Weekly and Booklist both give Skeleton Man starred reviews, and Marilyn Stasio, writing in the New York Times, says 'in his masterly reworking of this powerful myth, Hillerman creates a kachina for contemporary times -- a hermit who lives in a cave at the bottom of the Grand Canyon and dispenses diamonds (''the symbol of greed,'' according to one wary recipient) that can corrupt anyone who mistakes their cold glitter for true light.

As always, don't take my, or anyone else's word for it; instead browse an excerpt for yourself - only at BookBrowse.

This review is from the February 3, 2006 issue of BookBrowse Recommends. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Sunburn
    Sunburn
    by Laura Lippman
    Crime writer Laura Lippman is both prolific and versatile. After spending years as a reporter for ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.