We are proud to announce that BookBrowse has won Platinum in the 2024 Modern Library Awards.

BookBrowse Reviews Skeleton Man by Tony Hillerman

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Skeleton Man

by Tony Hillerman

Skeleton Man by Tony Hillerman X
Skeleton Man by Tony Hillerman
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Nov 2004, 241 pages

    Paperback:
    Jan 2006, 368 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


'The stakes are high and the danger escalates clear through to the final pages.' Mystery

Comment: If you're looking for a thrilling, page turning, heart pounding adventure - move on; but if you're in the market for a thoughtful mystery set in a stunning location look no further.  I think I would have enjoyed Skeleton Man wherever and however I'd read it, but it's quite possible that I particularly enjoyed it because I listened to most of it on a long solo car journey with absolutely no distractions, so I could take in every mellow, gravelly word read by George Guidall.   

This series began way back in 1970 with The Blessing Way, starring Joe Leaphorn.  In 1980 Hillerman introduced Jim Chee in People of Darkness; and in 1986 he brought his two characters together in Skinwalkers.  Thirty-four years after the first book, Leaphorn is in retirement but he still has an investigative roll to play.  However, the main action is with Jim Chee and his fiancée Bernie Manuelito (and I suspect we'll be seeing more of this duo in the future) who are on the path to solve the Skeleton Man mystery (according to Hopi legend, the Skeleton Man is the guardian spirit of the underworld).

A simple-minded young man has been imprisoned for a crime but fortunately for him he's a cousin of an old colleague of Jim Chee, and Chee sets out to prove him innocent.  However, this won't be easy as the only way to corroborate his story of innocence is to find the remains of one of the 172 people killed in an airplane accident over the Grand Canyon 50 years earlier - the 'remains' in question being an arm attached to an attaché case full of diamonds. Meanwhile the plot quickly thickens with the arrival of the illegitimate daughter of the dead diamond dealer determined to find the bones, and a nasty bit of work determined to stop her.  

Publishers Weekly and Booklist both give Skeleton Man starred reviews, and Marilyn Stasio, writing in the New York Times, says 'in his masterly reworking of this powerful myth, Hillerman creates a kachina for contemporary times -- a hermit who lives in a cave at the bottom of the Grand Canyon and dispenses diamonds (''the symbol of greed,'' according to one wary recipient) that can corrupt anyone who mistakes their cold glitter for true light.

As always, don't take my, or anyone else's word for it; instead browse an excerpt for yourself - only at BookBrowse.

This review first ran in the February 3, 2006 issue of BookBrowse Recommends.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Skeleton Man, try these:

  • Village of the Ghost Bears jacket

    Village of the Ghost Bears

    by Stan Jones

    Published 2011

    About this book

    Alaska State Trooper Nathan Active must figure out what connects a dead hunter on a remote Arctic lake with a deadly series of events.

  • The Plague of Doves jacket

    The Plague of Doves

    by Louise Erdrich

    Published 2009

    About this book

    More by this author

    The unsolved murder of a farm family haunts the small, white, off-reservation town of Pluto, North Dakota. The vengeance exacted for this crime and the subsequent distortions of truth transform the lives of Ojibwe living on the nearby reservation and shape the passions of both communities for the next generation.

We have 7 read-alikes for Skeleton Man, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Tony Hillerman
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Curse of Pietro Houdini
    The Curse of Pietro Houdini
    by Derek B. Miller
    Derek B. Miller's sixth novel, The Curse of Pietro Houdini, opens in the town of Cassino, Italy, in ...
  • Book Jacket: Our Moon
    Our Moon
    by Rebecca Boyle
    In Our Moon: How Earth's Celestial Companion Transformed the Planet, Guided Evolution, and Made Us ...
  • Book Jacket: Neighbors and Other Stories
    Neighbors and Other Stories
    by Diane Oliver
    The history of American segregation, along with changes to it in the 1960s, is sometimes taught and ...
  • Book Jacket: Wild and Distant Seas
    Wild and Distant Seas
    by Tara Karr Roberts
    Tara Karr Roberts is a newspaper columnist who also teaches English and journalism. Wild and Distant...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Mockingbird Summer
by Lynda Rutledge
A powerful and emotional coming-of-age novel set in the 1960s by the bestselling author of West with Giraffes.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Leaving
    by Roxana Robinson

    An engrossing exploration of the vows we make to one another and what we owe to others and ourselves.

  • Book Jacket

    Strong Passions
    by Barbara Weisberg

    Shocking revelations of a wife's adultery in 19th New York explode in an incendiary trial exposing the upper-crust and its secrets.

Win This Book
Win The Cleaner

The Cleaner
by Brandi Wells

Rarely has cubicle culture been depicted in such griminess or with such glee."
PW (starred review)

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I Wouldn't T H W A T-F P

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.