Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

BookBrowse Reviews Metro Girl by Janet Evanovich

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Metro Girl

by Janet Evanovich

Metro Girl by Janet Evanovich X
Metro Girl by Janet Evanovich
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Nov 2004, 304 pages

    Paperback:
    Oct 2005, 384 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


'It's all about hanging out with Metro Girl and NASCAR Guy'. Mystery/Humor

Normally, I'd steer clear of books with pink covers (especially pink covers with soft focus illustrations) but there is nothing soft and romantic about this pink.  This pink says 'I am Metro Girl, eat my dust'.  Evanovich's new heroine is Alexandra Barnaby (known as Barney) a woman who sets the tone of the book from her opening line, 'Just because I know how to change a guy's oil doesn't mean I want to spend the rest of my life on my back, staring up his undercarriage.'  Barney comes from Baltimore and is passionate about cars, having grown up in her father's garage, but she's also pretty keen on the good things in life which is why she holds down her day job in an office.  That is until her brother goes missing in Florida and she sets off to find him.

This review first ran in the October 19, 2005 issue of BookBrowse Recommends.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Metro Girl, try these:

  • Conviction jacket

    Conviction

    by Denise Mina

    Published 2020

    About this book

    More by this author

    The captivating, utterly unforgettable new thriller for fans of Killing Eve and The Woman in the Window: A true-crime podcast sets a housewife's present life on a collision course with her secret past.

  • Rust & Stardust jacket

    Rust & Stardust

    by T Greenwood

    Published 2018

    About this book

    Based on the experiences of real-life kidnapping victim Sally Horner and her captor, whose story shocked the nation and inspired Vladimir Nabokov to write his controversial and iconic Lolita.

We have 6 read-alikes for Metro Girl, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Janet Evanovich
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Joy Is the Justice We Give Ourselves
    Joy Is the Justice We Give Ourselves
    by J Drew Lanham
    As a recipient of the MacArthur "Genius" Grant, and a Professor of Wildlife Ecology and Master ...
  • Book Jacket: Glorious Exploits
    Glorious Exploits
    by Ferdia Lennon
    Lampo and Gelon are two unemployed potters in their thirties whose lives are spent between their ...
  • Book Jacket: Song of the Six Realms
    Song of the Six Realms
    by Judy I. Lin
    Xue'er has no place in the kingdom of Qi or any of the Six Realms. Her name means "Solitary Snow" ...
  • Book Jacket: The Demon of Unrest
    The Demon of Unrest
    by Erik Larson
    In the aftermath of the 1860 presidential election, the divided United States began to collapse as ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Long After We Are Gone
by Terah Shelton Harris
After their father's death, four siblings rally to save their family home in this gripping and hopeful tale.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Daughters of Shandong
    by Eve J. Chung

    Eve J. Chung's debut novel recounts a family's flight to Taiwan during China's Communist revolution.

  • Book Jacket

    This Strange Eventful History
    by Claire Messud

    An immersive, masterful story of a family born on the wrong side of history.

Win This Book
Win Only the Brave

Only the Brave by Danielle Steel

A powerful, sweeping historical novel about a courageous woman in World War II Germany.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

F T a T

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.