We are proud to announce that BookBrowse has won Platinum in the 2024 Modern Library Awards.

BookBrowse Reviews The Warlord's Son by Dan Fesperman

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Warlord's Son

A Novel

by Dan Fesperman

The Warlord's Son by Dan Fesperman X
The Warlord's Son by Dan Fesperman
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 2004, 336 pages

    Paperback:
    Sep 2005, 336 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


'Offers a level of cultural and political nuance not always found in adventure thrillers.'

Comment: This is Dan Fesperman's third book, following the generally well received novels, Lie in the Dark (2000) and The Small Boat of Sorrows (2003), both set in the former Yugoslavia - Fesperman, a reporter for the Baltimore Sun, worked in its Berlin bureau during the years of the civil war in the former Yugoslavia, and more recently in Afghanistan.  

In The Warlord's Son, Fesperman turns his attention to Afghanistan.  Stan Kelly, known in the business as Skelly, used to be an ace war correspondent but in recent years has been reduced to covering local news for a Midwestern daily; that is until a few weeks after 9/11 to cover the 'war on terror' from Afghanistan.  Shortly after arriving in Parkistan he hires Najeeb, an English speaking Afgan 'fixer' (a fixer being the necessary human ingredient that enables a foreign journalist who doesn't speak the language, know the people or the customs, to have any chance of reporting on any issue larger than his hotel room). However, Najeeb has a complicated life of his own - he's an outcast from his own clan, involved in an illicit affair and an informer to boot, albeit unwilling.  

Together they make the harrowing journey into Afghanistan and manage to join up with a local warlord, but soon their newly formed friendship is put to the test.

As Patrick Anderson, writing for The Washington Post, says 'The Warlord's Son offers a brilliant picture of what might be called the journalistic condition -- specifically, the joys, absurdities and horrors of the foreign correspondent's life -- and it will teach you more than you ever expected to know about tribesmen for whom violence is a given and betrayal is an art … [it} deserves the attention of anyone who is open to first-rate fiction about war, journalism and the dark, dangerous worlds called Pakistan and Afghanistan.'

In addition to browsing the excerpt, I recommend you also take a few minutes to read the interview with Fesperman at BookBrowse, in which he discusses a wide range of topics including what it's like to be a reporter on the frontline, and why he believes that 'every culture in the world is just one good shove away from the precipice of barbarism'.

This review first ran in the September 14, 2005 issue of BookBrowse Recommends.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked The Warlord's Son, try these:

  • The Opium Prince jacket

    The Opium Prince

    by Jasmine Aimaq

    Published 2022

    About this book

    Jasmine Aimaq's stunning debut explores Afghanistan on the eve of a violent revolution and the far-reaching consequences of a young Kochi girl's tragic death.

  • The Taliban Shuffle jacket

    The Taliban Shuffle

    by Kim Barker

    Published 2012

    About this book

    A true-life Catch-22 set in the deeply dysfunctional countries of Afghanistan and Pakistan, by one of the region's longest-serving correspondents.

We have 10 read-alikes for The Warlord's Son, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Dan Fesperman
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Atlas of Us
    The Atlas of Us
    by Kristin Dwyer
    Despite her name, Atlas James feels like she lacks a road map for her future. In the months since ...
  • Book Jacket: One Hour of Fervor
    One Hour of Fervor
    by Muriel Barbery
    Set during multiple decades across the turn of the 21st century, One Hour of Fervor follows Haru, a ...
  • Book Jacket: The Ascent
    The Ascent
    by Adam Plantinga
    Adam Plantinga's brilliant debut novel, The Ascent, introduces readers to former Detroit police ...
  • Book Jacket: The Curse of Pietro Houdini
    The Curse of Pietro Houdini
    by Derek B. Miller
    Derek B. Miller's sixth novel, The Curse of Pietro Houdini, opens in the town of Cassino, Italy, in ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Clytemnestra
by Costanza Casati
A feminist Greek retelling about the most notorious heroine of the ancient world and the events that forged her into a legendary queen.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Strong Passions
    by Barbara Weisberg

    Shocking revelations of a wife's adultery in 19th New York explode in an incendiary trial exposing the upper-crust and its secrets.

  • Book Jacket

    Help Wanted
    by Adelle Waldman

    From the best-selling author of The Love Affairs of Nathaniel P. comes a funny, eye-opening tale of work in contemporary America.

Win This Book
Win The Cleaner

The Cleaner
by Brandi Wells

Rarely has cubicle culture been depicted in such griminess or with such glee."
PW (starred review)

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

M T G Before I S

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.