BookBrowse Reviews Crossing California by Adam Langer

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Crossing California

by Adam Langer

Crossing California by Adam Langer
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jun 2004, 448 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2005, 512 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A coming of age story set in Chicago. Debut novel

Although the title would suggest a classic road trip novel, Langer's debut is set in a few small blocks of Chicago between 1979 and 1981. The reviews for this 'coming of age' novel are overwhelmingly positive. Publishers Weekly compares Langer to Saul Bellow and Stuart Dybek, both Chicago writers; Booklist opines that he may have been aiming to write like Philip Roth but landed, instead beside David Sedaris; meanwhile, People magazine compares him, perhaps a little obviously, to Jonathan Franzen (and gives the book 4 stars); and the Chicago Tribune describes Crossing California as the most vivid novel about Chicago since Saul Bellow's Herzog, and the most ambitious debut since Philip Roth's Letting Go.

This review is from the May 18, 2005 issue of BookBrowse Recommends. Click here to go to this issue.



This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Graybar Hotel
    The Graybar Hotel
    by Curtis Dawkins
    We – those of us on the outside – are lucky. So very lucky. We get to experience life &#...
  • Book Jacket: The Force
    The Force
    by Don Winslow
    Intense! That's the word. Winslow's The Force rips through its four hundred pages with the...
  • Book Jacket: Shadow Man
    Shadow Man
    by Alan Drew
    Alan Drew's debut novel, Gardens of Water, was an ambitious work of literary fiction set amid ...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
June by Miranda Beverly-Whittemore

A novel of suspense and passion about a terrible mistake that changed a family forever.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.