MLA Platinum Award Press Release

BookBrowse Reviews Birds Without Wings by Louis de Bernieres

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Birds Without Wings

by Louis de Bernieres

Birds Without Wings by Louis de Bernieres X
Birds Without Wings by Louis de Bernieres
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Aug 2004, 576 pages
    Paperback:
    Jun 2005, 576 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Dazzling. . .a fabulous book in the tradition of Tolstoy and Dickens. Historical Fiction

From the book jacket: de Bernières (author of Captain Corelli's Mandolin) gives us his long-awaited new novel. Huge, resonant, lyrical, filled with humor and pathos, a novel about the political and personal costs of war, and of love–between men and women, between friends and between those who are driven to be enemies. It is the story of a small coastal town in South West Anatolia in the dying days of the Ottoman Empire told in the richly varied voices of the people – Christians and Muslims of Turkish and Greek and Armenian descent – whose lives are rooted there, intertwined for untold years.

Opinion:

When I first recommended Birds Without Wings in August 2004 (in hardcover) I wrote. 'it seems almost unfair to the other books in this week's line up to have to be in the company of 'Birds Without Wings', Louis de Bernières's first book since Captain Corelli's Mandolin.

However, the overwhelmingly positive reviews did not appear to translate into the same success in the USA that the book had achieved in Australia, Britain, Canada and New Zealand (where it sat on the bestseller lists for some time) - which is all the more reason for me to tell you about it now that it has just been released in paperback - to make sure that you don't miss out on this very exceptional book! 

'This is one of the great novels about the early 20th century and the emerging modern world, an epic of human disaster, on small and grand scales.' - The New Zealand Herald.

'Dazzling. . .a fabulous book in the tradition of Tolstoy and Dickens. . . . So joyous and heartbreaking, so rich and musical and wise, that reading it is like discovering anew the enchanting power of fiction.' - The San Francisco Chronicle

This review is from the Birds Without Wings. It first ran in the July 20, 2005 issue of BookBrowse Recommends.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten.

Join Now!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Mercies
    The Mercies
    by Kiran Millwood Hargrave
    It's 1617 and a violent storm has claimed the lives of 40 fishermen off the coast of Vardø, a ...
  • Book Jacket
    Buried Beneath the Baobab Tree
    by Adaobi Tricia Nwaubani
    Ya Ta, the main character in Adaobi Tricia Nwaubani's novel, Buried Beneath the Baobab Tree, ...
  • Book Jacket: Run Me to Earth
    Run Me to Earth
    by Paul Yoon
    Suspenseful and elegant storytelling in Run Me to Earth kept me turning pages even through traumatic...
  • Book Jacket: Beheld
    Beheld
    by TaraShea Nesbit
    Much like her debut novel The Wives of Los Alamos, TaraShea Nesbit's Beheld imagines a familiar ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Mountains Sing
    by Nguyen Phan Que Mai

    An enveloping, multigenerational tale set against the backdrop of the Viet Nam War.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    And They Called It Camelot
    by Stephanie Marie Thornton

    An unforgettable portrait of American legend Jackie O.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
The Things They Carried
by Tim O'Brien

The classic, ground-breaking meditation on war and the redemptive power of storytelling.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win The Firsts

The Inside Story of the Women Reshaping Congress

[I]ntimately told ...detailed and thought-provoking" - New York Times

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

T Die I C

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.