BookBrowse Reviews Birds Without Wings by Louis de Bernieres

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Birds Without Wings

by Louis de Bernieres

Birds Without Wings by Louis de Bernieres
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Aug 2004, 576 pages
    Paperback:
    Jun 2005, 576 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Dazzling. . .a fabulous book in the tradition of Tolstoy and Dickens. Historical Fiction

From the book jacket: de Bernières (author of Captain Corelli's Mandolin) gives us his long-awaited new novel. Huge, resonant, lyrical, filled with humor and pathos, a novel about the political and personal costs of war, and of love–between men and women, between friends and between those who are driven to be enemies. It is the story of a small coastal town in South West Anatolia in the dying days of the Ottoman Empire told in the richly varied voices of the people – Christians and Muslims of Turkish and Greek and Armenian descent – whose lives are rooted there, intertwined for untold years.

Opinion:

When I first recommended Birds Without Wings in August 2004 (in hardcover) I wrote. 'it seems almost unfair to the other books in this week's line up to have to be in the company of 'Birds Without Wings', Louis de Bernières's first book since Captain Corelli's Mandolin.

However, the overwhelmingly positive reviews did not appear to translate into the same success in the USA that the book had achieved in Australia, Britain, Canada and New Zealand (where it sat on the bestseller lists for some time) - which is all the more reason for me to tell you about it now that it has just been released in paperback - to make sure that you don't miss out on this very exceptional book! 

'This is one of the great novels about the early 20th century and the emerging modern world, an epic of human disaster, on small and grand scales.' - The New Zealand Herald.

'Dazzling. . .a fabulous book in the tradition of Tolstoy and Dickens. . . . So joyous and heartbreaking, so rich and musical and wise, that reading it is like discovering anew the enchanting power of fiction.' - The San Francisco Chronicle

This review is from the July 20, 2005 issue of BookBrowse Recommends. Click here to go to this issue.



This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Hunger
    Hunger
    by Roxane Gay
    In this penetrating and fearless memoir, author Roxane Gay discusses her battle with body acceptance...
  • Book Jacket: The Black Witch
    The Black Witch
    by Laurie Forest
    In The Black Witch, Laurie Forest introduces her readers to an immersive fantasy world where ...
  • Book Jacket: See What I Have Done
    See What I Have Done
    by Sarah Schmidt
    Sarah Schmidt's historical fictionalization of the Lizzie Borden story is a tsunami. From the ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
Cruel Beautiful World by Caroline Leavitt

Cruel Beautiful World examines the intricate, infinitesimal distance between seduction and love, loyalty and duty.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Young Jane Young
    by Gabrielle Zevin

    From the author of The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry comes a novel that will have everyone talking.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Hame

Hame by Annalena McAfee

A rich, sultry novel about a young American fleeing a crumbling marriage for a remote Scottish island.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

A F Out O W

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.