BookBrowse Reviews The Hundredth Man by Jack Kerley

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Hundredth Man

by Jack Kerley

The Hundredth Man
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jun 2004, 320 pages
    Paperback:
    Jun 2005, 416 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

'A narrative locomotive of a first novel'

The Hundredth Man got me, and got me good - I thought I'd skim a few pages before bed and before I knew it, it was two o'clock in the morning and I was sitting in a once hot, but now barely tepid bath tub, turning the final pages.  Although there are a number of gruesome murders in The Hundredth Man the violence didn't seem gratuitous - something that has turned me off a number of thriller writers.  Instead there was a purpose behind every taut and structured page - making for a thrilling detective mystery.  The characters are fascinating with plenty of development room for sequels and possibly even a prequel.

Selected Review:
"[The Hundredth Man is a] narrative locomotive of a first novel. Kerley jacks up the tension effectively with nicely placed jumps between Carson's narration and the tortured thoughts of the killer, building up to an all-stops-out climax. ... Powerful. ... Compelling. ... Kerley's plot is a treasure chest of interlocked pieces." - Booklist (starred review).

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.