Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

BookBrowse Reviews Heaven Lake by John Dalton

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Heaven Lake

by John Dalton

Heaven Lake by John Dalton X
Heaven Lake by John Dalton
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Apr 2004, 451 pages

    Paperback:
    Mar 2005, 464 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A noteworthy first novel by a writer to watch

From the book jacket: Naive Vincent Saunders has graduated from college, left his small hometown in Illinois, and arrived in Taiwan as a Christian volunteer. After opening a ministry house, he meets a wealthy Taiwanese businessman, Mr. Gwa, who tells Vincent that on his far travels to western China he has discovered a beautiful young woman living near the famous landmark Heaven Lake. In exchange for a sum of money, will Vincent travel to China on Gwa's behalf, take part in a counterfeit marriage, and bring her back to Taiwan for Gwa to marry legitimately?  

Vincent initially says no but before long an ill-advised relationship with a local girl forces him to abandon the ministry house and sends him on a path toward spiritual reckoning - it also causes him to reconsider Gwa's extraordinary proposition.  As Vincent travels further into China his journey really begins and he is forced to realize that the world is 'a grayer, more complicated world than I ever imagined'.  

Comment: I thought this an excellent novel, almost on a par with the Poisonwood BibleThe only weakness I felt was that Vincent started out as such a dull character that it was a little difficult to be interested in him, but as the book progressed and some of his zeal rubbed off to be replaced with a little more understanding of humanity, he became a lot more likeableBookBrowse subscribers appear to agree, of the 54 people who rated Heaven Lake (for the 2004 Awards, which will be announced soon), 60% rated it very good or excellent, and only 9% rated it below average.  

'Sober and searching yet sublimely comic, this impressive debut about a modern-day missionary in Taiwan charts a journey away from reflexive faith and toward a broader understanding of the world and its ways. This is a noteworthy first novel by a writer to watch.' -- Publishers Weekly.

This review first ran in the March 16, 2005 issue of BookBrowse Recommends.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Heaven Lake, try these:

  • City of Tranquil Light jacket

    City of Tranquil Light

    by Bo Caldwell

    Published 2011

    About this book

    Inspired by the lives of the author's maternal grandparents - City of Tranquil Light is a tender and elegiac portrait of a young marriage set against the backdrop of the shifting face of a beautiful but torn nation.

  • The Elephanta Suite jacket

    The Elephanta Suite

    by Paul Theroux

    Published 2008

    About this book

    More by this author

    A master of the travel narrative weaves three intertwined novellas of Westerners transformed by their sojourns in India.

We have 7 read-alikes for Heaven Lake, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Demon of Unrest
    The Demon of Unrest
    by Erik Larson
    In the aftermath of the 1860 presidential election, the divided United States began to collapse as ...
  • Book Jacket: Daughters of Shandong
    Daughters of Shandong
    by Eve J. Chung
    Daughters of Shandong is the debut novel of Eve J. Chung, a human rights lawyer living in New York. ...
  • Book Jacket: Anita de Monte Laughs Last
    Anita de Monte Laughs Last
    by Xochitl Gonzalez
    Brooklyn-based novelist Xochitl Gonzalez is an inspiring writer to follow. At forty, she decided to ...
  • Book Jacket: Icarus
    Icarus
    by K. Ancrum
    The titular protagonist of K. Ancrum's young adult novel Icarus lives a double life that mixes the ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Romantic Comedy
by Curtis Sittenfeld
A comedy writer's stance on love shifts when a pop star challenges her assumptions in this witty and touching novel.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Daughters of Shandong
    by Eve J. Chung

    Eve J. Chung's debut novel recounts a family's flight to Taiwan during China's Communist revolution.

  • Book Jacket

    This Strange Eventful History
    by Claire Messud

    An immersive, masterful story of a family born on the wrong side of history.

Win This Book
Win Only the Brave

Only the Brave by Danielle Steel

A powerful, sweeping historical novel about a courageous woman in World War II Germany.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

F T a T

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.