Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

BookBrowse Reviews Lab 257 by Michael C. Carroll

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Lab 257

The Disturbing Story of the Government's Secret Plum Island Germ Laboratory

by Michael C. Carroll

Lab 257 by Michael C. Carroll X
Lab 257 by Michael C. Carroll
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Feb 2004, 288 pages

    Paperback:
    Aug 2005, 352 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Is there a connection between Lyme disease, West Nile Virus and a biological research station just a few miles from New York City?
Current Affairs/Science

From the Book Jacket: In the shadow of New York City lies an unimposing 840-acre island unidentified on most maps. Lab 257 takes you deep inside Plum Island's laboratories and presents startling revelations including virus outbreaks, biological meltdowns and the connections between Plum Island, Lyme disease and the West Nile virus. Based on innumerable declassified government documents, scores of in-depth interviews, and access to Plum Island itself, this is an eye-opening, suspenseful account of a federal government germ laboratory gone terribly wrong.

Comment: Is there a connection between Lyme disease, West Nile virus and the Department of Homeland Security's laboratories on Plum Island? According to Michael Carroll's apparently thorough research, yes there is, and those aren't the only concerns - add to these biological meltdowns, infected workers denied assistance in diagnosis, flushing of contaminated sewage into local waters, and it's difficult to be anything but concerned. Is Plum Island an accident waiting to happen? It would seem so.

The following quote comes from Mario Cuomo, former Governor of New York (1982-1994).
"If we're lucky, someone in the media will read this carefully researched, chilling expose of a potential catastrophe and force the government to do something about it. If not, Mike Carroll's brilliant work will have been wasted and we may be the victims, once again, of government inadvertence."

Useful Links: Information about West Nile Virus and Lyme Disease.

This review first ran in the September 1, 2005 issue of BookBrowse Recommends.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Lab 257, try these:

  • The Wild Life of Our Bodies jacket

    The Wild Life of Our Bodies

    by Rob Dunn

    Published 2014

    About this book

    A biologist shows the influence of wild species on our well-being and the world and how nature still clings to us - and always will.

  • Dry Storeroom No. 1 jacket

    Dry Storeroom No. 1

    by Richard Fortey

    Published 2009

    About this book

    More by this author

    Fortey introduces the reader to the extraordinary people, meticulous research and driving passions that helped to create the timeless experiences of wonder that is London’s Natural History Museum.

We have 5 read-alikes for Lab 257, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Michael Carroll
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Swans of Harlem
    The Swans of Harlem
    by Karen Valby
    Journalist Karen Valby's first book, The Swans of Harlem, introduces readers to the little-known ...
  • Book Jacket: The Sicilian Inheritance
    The Sicilian Inheritance
    by Jo Piazza
    Sara Marsala is going through a rough patch, to say the least. In the process of divorcing from her ...
  • Book Jacket: The Light Eaters
    The Light Eaters
    by Zoë Schlanger
    The human race is completely dependent on plants. Many people, however, give little thought to ...
  • Book Jacket: Joy Is the Justice We Give Ourselves
    Joy Is the Justice We Give Ourselves
    by J Drew Lanham
    As a recipient of the MacArthur "Genius" Grant, and a Professor of Wildlife Ecology and Master ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Long After We Are Gone
by Terah Shelton Harris
After their father's death, four siblings rally to save their family home in this gripping and hopeful tale.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Stolen Child
    by Ann Hood

    An unlikely duo ventures through France and Italy to solve the mystery of a child’s fate.

  • Book Jacket

    Daughters of Shandong
    by Eve J. Chung

    Eve J. Chung's debut novel recounts a family's flight to Taiwan during China's Communist revolution.

Win This Book
Win Only the Brave

Only the Brave by Danielle Steel

A powerful, sweeping historical novel about a courageous woman in World War II Germany.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

F T a T

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.