BookBrowse Reviews Remember Me by Trezza Azzopardi

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Remember Me

by Trezza Azzopardi

Remember Me by Trezza Azzopardi X
Remember Me by Trezza Azzopardi
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Mar 2004, 261 pages
    Paperback:
    Feb 2005, 272 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


2nd novel by the author of The Hiding Place

From the book jacket: Set in England against the backdrop of World War II, this is a story of pursuit: of stolen goods, of missing years, and of one woman’s forgotten history

From the book jacket:  Seventy-two-year-old Winnie—homeless and abandoned time and again by those she’s trusted—would say she’s no trouble. She is content to let the days go by, minding her own business, bothering no one. Winnie would rather not recall the past and at her age doesn’t see much point in thinking about the future. But she is catapulted out of her exile when a young girl robs her of her suitcase and her wig—Winnie’s only material possessions. With nothing else to show for her life, these few pieces are irreplaceable to her; she wants them back.

Winnie then embarks on a journey to find the thief, and what begins as a search for stolen belongings becomes the rediscovery of a stolen life. As she pieces together the fragments of her life, her once secluded world begins to fill with people and Winnie recognizes after all these years, she has not escaped from her life at all: she has been circling it, and must now come to terms with it.

Comment: This is a wonderful, poetic book. I felt like I was reading it through a fog - I knew there were shapes out there but couldn't be quite sure what they all were - until they eventually came into focus. This is a book to read slowly so as to gather the full impact of each word and each image. Azzopardi doesn't spell things out, you have to sift through the subtleties. 

'Azzopardi’s forte is a seductive, supple prose that darts from sensuous evocation of people and places to blissful reverie to haunting moments of loneliness. . . .Another sign of a talented wordsmith on the rise.'  -- Dan Cryer, Newsday

This review is from the March 2, 2005 issue of BookBrowse Recommends. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The World Doesn't Require You
    The World Doesn't Require You
    by Rion Amilcar Scott
    You can't move for young authors being marketed as "unique," "bold" and "visionary" these days. So ...
  • Book Jacket: The Long Call
    The Long Call
    by Ann Cleeves
    Penning a great murder mystery seems like it would be particularly challenging. The story often fits...
  • Book Jacket: The Liar
    The Liar
    by Ayelet Gundar-Goshen
    The Liar is a book that will make its readers uncomfortable by design; set in modern-day Israel, it ...
  • Book Jacket: The Dutch House
    The Dutch House
    by Ann Patchett

    There are a few times in life when you leap up and the past that you'd been standing on falls away ...


Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Shadow King
    by Maaza Mengiste

    "A brilliant novel, lyrically lifting history towards myth. It's also compulsively readable."
    —Salman Rushdie
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Motherhood So White
    by Nefertiti Austin

    A heartwarming memoir of motherhood and adoption told through an African American lens.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

An enchanting story for fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Elegance of the Hedgehog.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L, Damn L, A S

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.