MLA Platinum Award Press Release

BookBrowse Reviews Inside Grandad by Peter Dickinson

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Inside Grandad

by Peter Dickinson

Inside Grandad by Peter Dickinson X
Inside Grandad by Peter Dickinson
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Feb 2004, 128 pages
    Paperback:
    Jun 2005, 124 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Magic hovers just beneath the surface of Dickinson's lyrical tale. Ages 9-12

The story is set in Scotland where Gavin spends most of his free time with his Grandad.   That is until his grandfather is hospitalized with a stroke.  Day after day at the hospital, Gavin tries to get through to his now helpless and speechless Grandad and even after everyone else has given up Gavin keeps trying.

Our children (then 8 and 10) enjoyed listening to this story, which I read to them at our morning 'reading parties' before school last year, and the storyline triggered a  number of interesting conversations about issues that concerned them. As adults, I think we tend to underestimate how aware, often concerned, many children can be about death and illness - subjects that many of us find almost as difficult, if not more difficult, to discuss with our children than sex!  Many of the euphemisms we use can be terribly confusing to children - for example putting a family pet 'to sleep'!

So, in short, I think this is a lovely book and well worth reading, and one that would be particularly valuable if your children are coping with the serious illness of a family member, elderly or otherwise.

Selected Reviews:
'Magic hovers just beneath the surface of Dickinson's lyrical tale.....The road to the hopeful but honest conclusion is thoughtful but never maudlin, and the insights the author offers will linger long after journey's end. Ages 9-12.' - Publishers Weekly.

This review is from the Inside Grandad. It first ran in the June 15, 2005 issue of BookBrowse Recommends.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Little Gods
    Little Gods
    by Meng Jin
    Little Gods, Meng Jin's intricate, emotionally intelligent debut, opens with a scene in which ...
  • Book Jacket: The Truants
    The Truants
    by Kate Weinberg
    The Truants opens with Jess Walker, a first-year university student in Norfolk, England, ...
  • Book Jacket: The End of the Ocean
    The End of the Ocean
    by Maja Lunde
    In The History of Bees, her debut novel for adults, internationally bestselling Norwegian writer ...
  • Book Jacket: Heart of Junk
    Heart of Junk
    by Luke Geddes
    In Luke Geddes' debut novel, The Heart of America is the largest year-round antique mall in Kansas, ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Remembrance
    by Rita Woods

    A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground Railroad and Orphan Train.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    American Dirt
    by Jeanine Cummins

    A new American classic, and the first book to ever score a perfect 5-stars in BookBrowse's early reader program!
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
Father of Lions
by Louise Callaghan

A true-to-life narrative of one man's remarkable quest to save the Mosul Zoo.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Sounds Like Titanic

"The definition of an overdeliver." —Vox

"A tricky, unnerving, consistently fascinating memoir."
Kirkus, starred review

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A F I Need I A F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.