Small Aircraft Transport in Alaska: Background information when reading Nobody Gets Out Alive

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Nobody Gets Out Alive

Stories

by Leigh Newman

Nobody Gets Out Alive by Leigh Newman X
Nobody Gets Out Alive by Leigh Newman
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Published:
    Apr 2022, 288 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Karen Lewis
Buy This Book

About this Book

Small Aircraft Transport in Alaska

This article relates to Nobody Gets Out Alive

Piper Super Cub DL3157 airplane above water Small airplanes are a common form of transport in Leigh Newman's collection of short stories, Nobody Gets Out Alive, set primarily in Alaska. Several of the stories take place on a lake where homes boast "seaplane docks." Alaska is a vast, sparsely populated region where it's estimated that around 80% of communities exist beyond the reach of roads, making air travel essential.

Bush planes, also known as STOL (Short Takeoff and Landing) aircraft, can land on short runways. With rugged "tundra tires," they're able to land in a clearing or meadow without pavement. Planes can also be outfitted with skis to land on snow or ice, and seaplanes are designed to land on water. Such conveniences matter in a region with active glaciers, a long snow season and more than three million lakes.

In Alaska, there are about six times more licensed pilots per capita than in any other state. Planes deliver building supplies, food and heating fuel to remote communities. Remote healthcare by plane ...

Subscribers Only

This article is only available to members at this time, but you can read these articles for free.

About Membership


Member Login


Library Patron Login

Join BookBrowse

and discover exceptional books
for just $3.25 per month.

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket
    The Personal Librarian
    by Marie Benedict, Victoria Christopher Murray
    The Personal Librarian drew a robust positive response from our First Impressions reviewers, ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Book Woman's Daughter
    by Kim Michele Richardson
    Kim Michele Richardson's The Book Woman's Daughter follows Honey Lovett, 16-year-old daughter of ...
  • Book Jacket: Iona Iverson's Rules for Commuting
    Iona Iverson's Rules for Commuting
    by Clare Pooley
    For the many years that I've been reading, one realization has always come to mind for me after ...
  • Book Jacket: We Had to Remove This Post
    We Had to Remove This Post
    by Hanna Bervoets
    It's not about money. Kayleigh, the protagonist and narrator of We Had to Remove This Post, a newly ...

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
Hamnet
by Maggie O'Farrell
"Of all the stories...about Shakespeare’s life, [Hamnet] is so gorgeously written that it transports you."
The Boston Globe

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    One's Company
    by Ashley Hutson

    For readers of Ottessa Moshfegh this fearless debut chronicles one woman's escape into a world of obsessive imagination.

  • Book Jacket

    The Lies I Tell
    by Julie Clark

    The new thriller from the New York Times bestselling author of The Last Flight!

Win This Book!
Win Where the Crawdads Sing

Win a signed copy of Where the Crawdads Sing

In celebration of the movie release on July 15, we have three signed copies to give away.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

T O Thing W H T F I F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.