Circassian Ethnic Identity and History: Background information when reading All-American Muslim Girl

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

All-American Muslim Girl

by Nadine Jolie Courtney

All-American Muslim Girl by Nadine Jolie Courtney X
All-American Muslim Girl by Nadine Jolie Courtney
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Nov 2019, 432 pages

    Paperback:
    Feb 2021, 432 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Catherine M Andronik
Buy This Book

About this Book

Circassian Ethnic Identity and History

This article relates to All-American Muslim Girl

Print Review

Map of the Caucasus/Circassian regionIn All-American Muslim Girl, Allie Abraham's family is ethnically Circassian, which accounts in part for her fair, reddish blonde hair. As Allie observes, few Americans have ever heard of Circassians, so in the novel she gives a very cursory background that only begins to describe the history and struggles of this group of people. Author Nadine Jolie Courtney, née Haobsh, knows Allie's heritage well; it is her own.

Circassians originally inhabited the northwest Caucasus area, now in southwestern Russia between the Black and Caspian Seas. Historically, the Circassians populated princedoms in the rugged mountains, fighting to maintain their cultural and political independence against the Muslim Mamluk and Ottoman Empires, and then Tsarist Russia. Circassian men and women alike were prized as strong and attractive slaves by their invaders—and many, despite their slave status, cleverly manipulated their way into higher echelons of power beyond their own borders. Circassians had their own language, which, as Allie notes, is critically endangered, spoken today by only about 300,000 people worldwide.

Christianity came to the Caucasus region as early as the first century A.D. Later, torn between the Ottomans and the Russians, many Circassians converted to Sunni Islam in the 18th century. Russia initiated a genocide of the Circassians following the Caucasian War in the 1860s. Those who survived were forced into exile, fleeing to Turkey, Syria, Israel, Iraq and Jordan (like Allie's family). Some eventually made their way to the United States, where there are now about 700,000 people of Circassian descent.

Today, the majority of Circassians live in the Middle East, southeastern Europe and the northern coast of Africa. They chiefly speak two Circassian languages known as Adyghe and Kabardian, though many also speak the local languages of the regions in which they live. Circassians remain predominantly Muslim, though the extent to which they practice and perform the cultural and religious traditions of Islam varies among different regions, and of course, among different individuals.

A new awareness of the Circassian genocide arose in 2014 during the Olympic Winter Games, held that year in Sochi, a Russian city near the Georgian border. Many of the mountain sports events were held at Krasnya Polanya, site of an 1864 Russian massacre of a Circassian village, sparking protests.

Check out this video clip of some impressive moves by Circassian performers preparing to compete on the Russian version of So You Think You Can Dance:



The Caucasus/Circassian region, courtesy of Geocurrents

Filed under Places, Cultures & Identities

This "beyond the book article" relates to All-American Muslim Girl. It originally ran in January 2020 and has been updated for the February 2021 paperback edition. Go to magazine.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for 12 months or $12 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

and discover exceptional books
for just $3.25 per month.

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket
    The Personal Librarian
    by Marie Benedict, Victoria Christopher Murray
    The Personal Librarian drew a robust positive response from our First Impressions reviewers, ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Book Woman's Daughter
    by Kim Michele Richardson
    Kim Michele Richardson's The Book Woman's Daughter follows Honey Lovett, 16-year-old daughter of ...
  • Book Jacket: Iona Iverson's Rules for Commuting
    Iona Iverson's Rules for Commuting
    by Clare Pooley
    For the many years that I've been reading, one realization has always come to mind for me after ...
  • Book Jacket: We Had to Remove This Post
    We Had to Remove This Post
    by Hanna Bervoets
    It's not about money. Kayleigh, the protagonist and narrator of We Had to Remove This Post, a newly ...

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
Hamnet
by Maggie O'Farrell
"Of all the stories...about Shakespeare’s life, [Hamnet] is so gorgeously written that it transports you."
The Boston Globe

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Daughters of the Flower Fragrant Garden
    by Zhuqing Li

    A beautifully woven family memoir that coalesces into a vivid history of two very different Chinas.

  • Book Jacket

    One's Company
    by Ashley Hutson

    For readers of Ottessa Moshfegh this fearless debut chronicles one woman's escape into a world of obsessive imagination.

Win This Book!
Win Where the Crawdads Sing

Win a signed copy of Where the Crawdads Sing

In celebration of the movie release on July 15, we have three signed copies to give away.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

T O Thing W H T F I F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.